Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Close My Side - DiscoFish - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is not exactly a game. This is an interactive story.
I hope you enjoy it.

Control: mouse

Thanks!

View DiscoFish's journal. | View all entries by DiscoFish

Ratings

Audio4.33
Mood4.53
Coolness69%
#4Graphics4.57
#34Overall3.82
#46Theme4.00
#138Innovation3.40
#162Fun3.28
#189Humor3.06

Comments

Wavewash says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:30am

So cool! Very stylish!!!

DiscoFish says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:38am

@Wavewash Thank you!

tommycreo says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:20am

Visual part is really stunning, great job

L says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:28am

Hmm... A bit too much pixel-hunting, considering how short the game is...

KEFIR says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:03am

Потрясно!

romaniac says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:49am

Awesome :D Are you okay, honey?

feili says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:20pm

Awesome stuff!

fhoenig says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:39pm

Hmm... How to play?

DiscoFish says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:44pm

@fhoenig, use mouse.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:47pm

Very cool style. Enjoyed it a lot.

allinlabs says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:50pm

More like a short interactive (not that much) story than an actual game. But what a story, man ! It's completely insane and amazing ! You fucking psychopath :D I really loved it.
Good graphics and music too, fit well with what's happening.

zimra says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:17pm

Very nice (or not XD) ! Love the graphics !

dremelofdeath says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:44pm

This game is absolutely stunning. The music, the art, the theme. It's disturbing in such a delicious way. I would have loved to see the game branch off in multiple possible directions with different outcomes, but the mood is so good I can overlook the short gameplay. Here, have some stars.

berkano says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:09pm

Beautiful and completely twisted!

mutuware says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:14pm

Beautifully weird!

Grouflon says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:16pm

Wow ! this completly stunned me ! this is brilliant !

Husky says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:16pm

I LOVE THIS GAME!
What a crazy story, you made the ambiemt good!
The whole style is just right!
Good job!

Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:16pm

you're a genius!

DiscoFish says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:22pm

Thank you guys for your Great comments!

Spacehunter says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:14pm

gave me the chills!

Excellent job on story, music (set the mood really well)

dek says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:33pm

Very interesting. Well done, and beautiful style.

GFM says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:54pm

This was great!!!

Everything (gfx, sfx the interaction) helped imemrse in the story!

Casino Jack says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:18pm

Short, but still probably gonna give me nightmares tonight :D
Animation was really crisp, and the music/sounds really built up the atmosphere.

Andrey Pradun says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:31pm

Very cool and creepy game!

wlad says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:56am

Wouh that was entertaining! The music in the background, was it synced to the current plot of the story (up and downs)? Or was it just coincidence? Like dremelofdeath I would also like to see non-linearity. Well done!

rubna says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:56pm

Cool novel, but too bad you haven't really got any choices to make and change the outcome of the game :\

RobKat says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:50pm

Best game ive played so far, great job!

Pierrec says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:47pm

Is the kiss the end ?
As you said, it's bit too less interactive
But also a bit too short as a story
The mood/music/graphics are so awesome that it's a bit frustrating in the end. I think this game deserve to be made!

(Oh...and I'm in love with the circle cursors)

Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:05pm

Impressive.

Pitoum says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 10:09pm

Very impressive. Too bad you didn't put multiple endings or things like that because I would have love to try again.
Arts, writing, and music are sooooo cool!

Mesene says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 10:28pm

very inmersive, I enjoyed it a lot!

Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:17pm

Very very immersive and very cool. Fantastic style, fantastic ambience, sound effects, everything is awesome.

My only gripe is that once again, the one girl in the whole game dies horribly, twice. :( How can i relate to that?

pereubu says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 9:59am

Damnit awesome and original D:

kibertoad says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 5:59pm

Not really a game, but pretty atmospheric experience. Gorgeous art!

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 2:09pm

It exudes sickness from every aspect. Really immersive !

marudziik says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 3:29pm

Awesome. A pity it's that short and linear, but what a great experience! Fantastic execution.

GetFun says ...
Jan 8, 2013 @ 3:42pm

this was intense

DiscoFish says ...
Jan 8, 2013 @ 4:59pm

Thank you all!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]