Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

TYRANOFORCE - blob - Jam Entry

***About the game

TYRANOFORCE is about the last tyranosaurus coming back to earth in 25XX AD to get the planet back to dinosaurs. However, an intrepid hero is after you. Send your countless minions after him in a reversed bullet hell shoot 'em up style game.

To win, destroy the Hero until he runs out of lives. Hurry up, because he'll finish the level after a minute !

***How to play

Left or right to move the minion spawner

Hold space to spawn minion ships. The longer you hold it, the stronger the ship you spawn ( for a total of 4 different ships).

Learn the strength and weaknesses of each ship and swarm the hero till he gets the Game Over he deserves.

*** Extra Notes

The project was ambitious and we couldn't get all the stuff we wanted. Originally we planned that after a minute or so, the player would reach the villain for a final, traditional boss battle. The goal being to reduce his number of lives as much as possible during the level to make the boss fight easier to win for the villain.

We also wanted to add power ups for the Hero ship: a shield and stronger weapons to make the game more challenging as the level went on.

We thought of a reversed score system where your goal is to make the Hero have the lowest high score possible by killing him fast enough or by spawning ships he's not able to destroy.

And sadly, the game lacks musics.

***Credits:

Code: Xewlupus
Art: Blob

View blob's journal. | View all entries by blob

Ratings

Coolness88%
Graphics(Jam)4.62
#6Theme(Jam)4.31
#7Overall(Jam)4.01
#11Fun(Jam)3.88
#13Innovation(Jam)3.97
#29Mood(Jam)3.62
#140Humor(Jam)2.72
#180Audio(Jam)2.67

Comments

Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:17am

Seen a few of these "reverse SHMUPS" so far, and this one is the prettiest.

MvT says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:19am

Awesome idea and graphics. :)

dredlockz says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:04am

Great concept! I liked how you balanced the enemy types by how long you had to charge it. Was there no sound? (played web version).

64Mega says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:16am

This is the first time I've encountered a reverse SHMUP, and I must say, it was executed perfectly.

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:44am

Wow, this was cool. Controls are very innovative. Well done!

Vic says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:55am

I liked it a lot! Good graphics, good balance.

Adok says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:35pm

Very good graphics, but the game seems to be hard...

feili says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:48pm

nice!!

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:12pm

Amazing game, man! I love it!
Awesome game control idea!

arch.jslin says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:40pm

Definitely the best graphics I've encountered so far!!

ethankennerly says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:03pm

Awesome images and solid user interface. You made this weekend great!

Gornova says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:45pm

Great, great, great. Idea, graphis, mechanics.. good!

Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:57am

Beautiful graphics and my favorite of the "reverse shmups" I've played so far. The only improvement really would be to add music but that is a lot to ask for in this competition especially with what you have made.

Faust says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:58am

Great reverse shooting game, the graphic is just awesome.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:58am

Beautiful graphics and my favorite of the "reverse shmups" I've played so far. The only improvement really would be to add music but that is a lot to ask for in this competition especially with what you have made.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:46am

Very good execution. The second ship seemed a bit unbalanced, though, as I won every time that I spawned it as a majority.

blob says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:21am

Thanks for the feedback :)
@dredlockz: There should be sound ( just no music ) not sure why it was broken for you.
@bitwise-constructs: Yes, I found that out today too. We didnt have enough time to test and balance the game properly.

nickworks says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:37am

Great ideas, nice art!

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:31am

I love the little dino at the keyboard! This is so gorgeous, but it's a bit easy to beat once you get a few huge ships on the screen. Needs some rockin tunes and better sound effects to be STELLAR, but as of right now it's really friggin' solid. GREAT WORK!!!

Husky says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:58pm

Wooho!!
The pixel art is great!
I like the Gozilla lol.

BlockBrains says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:01pm

Great reverse design! The pixel art looks super neat! I suck at the game, haha. Congrats!!

dek says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:03pm

Great game!

tompudding says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:16pm

Absolutely brilliant. You should totally continue this in a post-compo version and add those features you talked about, I'd love to control a boss during a boss battle!

YopSolo says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:28pm

great entry !

fishbrain says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:21pm

All-around superb! Great job!

Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:29pm

Great concept, and fantastic execution. This is way, way too good-looking for a game jam :) My main problem is that it's pretty hard, but I did notice some improvements if I tried different strategies, which means the idea of "hold longer for bigger ships" works quite well.

chas says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:52pm

Fantastic job! Bravo!

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:18pm

Very impressive game, really good difficulty level and strategy in unit types. Got it in three tries, and on that third try I only had one second left.

jerombd says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:23pm

Please make a post-gamejam version: the graphics are awesome and the gameplay is solidtoo. Once you'll add music and a boss battle, the fun will be x1000 higher :D

Cryovat says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:05pm

Great idea and execution. :D

BNeutral says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:11am

Ahaha, amazing.

KWL_TW says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:34am

Super awesome artwork!
Great game concept, too!

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:37am

If all the assets were made during the comp I'm very impressed. Fun to play and very polished. Very well done.

blob says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:01am

Thank you ! Yes, all code and art done from scratch for the jam.

@Jerombd We're gonna try to get those stuff added during the holidays. Making the musics is gonna be challenging !

caranha says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:29pm

Very Pretty game, and fun to boot!

I know everyone is talking about music, but what I really missed in this game was some way to restart! I tried to play three or four times, and having to reload the screen every time was a bit of a shore.

Congratulations on the great game!

Master0010 says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:54pm

awesome !! I want more lvls!!

Oreganik says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:26pm

MWAHAHAHA! THE VILLAIN WINS! sweet game! love the one button interface

BrothersT says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:39am

Brilliant work guys. So simple, so much fun. And with more work you could extend this long long past a minute of gameplay and I think it'd be even more fun. The graphics are outstanding too.

mokujin says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:12pm

Coool gameplay) awesome game. Would be nice to have restart button

Tanner says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:31pm

best depiction of short armed TREX as protagonistic antagonist.

rylgh says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:21pm

nice elegant ship spawning mechanic, fantastic art!

Casino Jack says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:26pm

The top and bottom of the SWF are cut off on my screen, so I can't see if there's an easier way to restart than refreshing the page - if not, you should add one!

Fantastic art and sound, but I haven't been able to beat the game yet.

jujule says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:42pm

Oh ! What a beauty, this one. Also the best spawning system so far amongst reverse shmups presented in this compo ( or that I have ever seen ). Will you later implement the ideas you talk about in your intro text ? That'd be sweet ! I think after putting so much effort in the graphics and design, it would be a waste to leave the game in such a state.

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:03pm

The pressure time based selection is a superb idea.
Really great job done on graphics.

(btw, thanks for your kind advice regarding my entry)

Jeremias says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:25pm

I won the game between second 1 and 0. Best practice: spam ship of the third type and sometimes the biggest one.

The graphics are incredible. I would appreciate, if you make a commercial game based on this. As you said, further gameplay mechanics are needed.

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:36pm

Amazing graphics, amazing idea, top 10 for no doubt.

allinlabs says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 7:03am

One button game like Pax Britannica (http://paxbritannica.henk.ca/), you did very well in 72h. Very polished, the ships seems well balanced but the 60 sec limit is too hard in my opinion; the game's short but funny and would have a good re-play value without the 60 limit.

blob says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:07pm

@casino jack try getting your browser into full screen ( usually F11) if you cant see the whole page. Sorry no better way to restart than reload the page yet, we'll add this in a post comp version.

@allinlabs Thanks for the link, that game looks interesting. Havent played local multiplayer on one keyboard in ages :)
Thanks for the comments ! ( we actually had to make the game in 48h because of full time jobs.) The 60s limit was a last minute addition because we had no lose condition !

hypp says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:28pm

Nice graphics

lucky.luddite says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:19pm

The single button control is perfect. This was fun.

Dec 24, 2012 @ 2:35am

I went at it till I beat the hero. Fantastic game, fantastic concept, marvellous execution! I've often thought of a reverse vertical scroller, but never had a good idea of how to implement being the bad guy. You solved it brilliantly.

I have no problem with the 60 second limit, the game is beatable.
Also, the 3-way bullet-spewing spaceship seems to be the player's best chance. They make a wide net of bullet fire, which the ship's AI (very clever by the way!) inescapably falls prey to. Having a mothership behind those doesn't hurt either. I found no use for the smaller drones, or the rocket-launching ships, since the AI would kill them instantly. Brilliant!

Dir3kt says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 11:56am

Cool game :)

Gungnir says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 4:30pm

As has been mentioned, there's a few reverse-shmups floating about - but I have to say this is far and away the best. You've taken the idea beyond just a neat gimmick and made something highly playable. It's the most compelling game I've played in the dare thus far. Nailed the visuals and sound too. The lack of built-in restart is the only nitpick. I'm going back now for another round.

Dec 24, 2012 @ 10:17pm

The game feels a bit hard, with the hero having five lives. That said, it's a very nice take on the shooter theme, and a great table-flip in terms of controls and goal. Great work!

Mista Koo says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 4:42pm

It looks so great it makes me a bit biased :P, but great pawn spawning mechanic.

krutech says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 9:32pm

I beat the hero. I really loved how you excecuted the "reverse bullet hell shmup". I beat it after a couple of times by spawning a certain enemy =)
With that said,d really really cool sprites and environments. Lack of music dont bring this game down.

hirsch says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 9:37pm

Well done. At first it was quity tricky to figure it out but then it worked better ;)

Norgg says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 9:38pm

Victory at last! The AI on the hero is done really well.

Dec 29, 2012 @ 9:43pm

Love the unity-spawn-system :D

dremelofdeath says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 1:52am

This game is sick. Great work. I loved the T-Rex on the computer! Such a great concept for the game.

JaJ says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 12:08pm

I did it! I like that in this game being deverse actually seems to help instead of hurt. In most of these type of games you just pick the ship that is balanced the best and keep spamming it, but this entry seemed to be balanced much better than that!

kato9 says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 10:58pm

Great concept and artwork.

hadesfury says ...
Jan 23, 2013 @ 9:28pm

Really fun :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]