December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

The Exterminator

by netgrind - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I had a friend do the audio, I came into the jam with the maze generator in a janky form and with the nape physics engine. The game should end and give you the chance to play a new level after you kill everything but this is a bit glitchy and sometimes seems to not notice everything is gone. If this is the case and you want to try a new map just refresh the page.

*****IF YOUR GAME IS LAGGING*****
Hit the - key to reduce particles

*****IF YOUR GAME IS NOT LAGGING ENOUGH*****
Hit the + key for more particles

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#114Audio3.24
#266Graphics3.18
#335Fun2.89
#340Overall3.03
#461Humor2.24
#571Mood2.39
#627Innovation2.29
#749Theme1.78

Comments

EatenAlive3 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:06am

Awesome job!

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:29am

Really nice game. Well Done!

Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:32am

Is something supposed to happen after you kill everything? I guess not. Anyways, solid dynamics, the graphics and sound are good.

Suese says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:07am

Was a bit choppy, and I was hoping something would happen after I destroyed all the enemies. Adding a timer would have improved this entry greatly.

Meep says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:55am

I find it was difficult to control the vertical speed, and it isn't clear how it relates to the theme. I feel some minor tweaks to the player's speeds/accelerations would help. A background would greatly help its visual appeal too. Aside from that, great work!

rasmusrn says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:58am

Haha, jet packs are awesome. Robots with propels are too! :D

Great!

pythong says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:03pm

if you had a friend do the audio, it's actually a jam entry, but I'll let it go this time. But don't do it next time plz! :)

Also, I liked the detail in the player and the enemies (and the player's small bug legs), but in retrospect, the level itself could have some more touch

rumachine says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:25pm

Wow, that was great! I like seeing the jetpacks and robots

enfyrneaux says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:32pm

Really fun, though a bandit mask does not a villain make.

Arakade says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:19am

Very playable! Harks back to Spectrum titles "Jet Pack" and "Lunar Jetman" -- my muscle memory just kicked right in and I was off :-)
p.s. I've fixed my game since your review <nudge, nudge> :-D

YopSolo says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:36pm

great entry

monomanio says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:09pm

The music and sfx was very nice. Maybe a little hard, or maybe its just me :)

Casino Jack says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:35pm

Reminds me of Trainyard. I do really like the arcadey aspect of having to place track while it's running.

Casino Jack says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:38pm

(Bugger, left that comment above in the wrong tab)

Looks like a good start you have here, though my netbook did chug a bit!

Dec 29, 2012 @ 1:25am

I really liked the minimap, as strange of a compliment as it is. It just felt...right. I really liked the concept of the game yet I find very little relation to the theme, which is fine considering I did the same thing. I encountered a peculiar glitch though, once I used the jetpack the sound effect would continue to play even after I stopped using it if I repeatedly spammed the up arrow. I don't know how reproducible it is, or if that was the only condition, I just know it happened three out of three times for me. Overall a solid entry.

infernet89 says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 11:12am

I really licked the control system, but i think it need something like a storyline to fit the teme.. Even if the main charachter has a mask!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]