December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

No Heroes Allowed

by steamgirl - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Heroes want to infiltrate your lair. Stop them through use of evil traps and doors!

The game only requires a mouse. NO keyboard input.
There is no audio in this game.

Made with GameMaker 8.1.

APOLOGIES:
No doubt it doesn't need this warning but this game is unfinished and a bit buggy where animation is concerned. My apologies in advance for this.

I also offer my apologies to anyone on Mac/Linux/Other platforms. I chose a tool that I find easy to use when working with such time restraints, but unfortunately it's not very portable. :(

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1081Coolness20%

Comments

Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:43am

Ha, this great!. Love the low-fi-tower-defense aesthetic. The names of the heroes are also cool :)

steamgirl says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:37pm

Haha - thanks Matthias! :) I wanted to do more with it but 48 hours just isn't enough. ;)

gameXcore says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:31pm

A very pretty game, although I seemed to just place poison in room 1 then watch the game until supergirl came along and held her breath, but I was still only at 72 gold so couldn't place any sharks.

ddionisio says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:25am

The Captain Sparkleses and Captain Men didn't stand a chance. But alas, ultrawoman arrested me...I wasn't quite sure if my wooden door and poison gases were enough for the next hero. There was no time for a diabolical counter.

Logun says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:10am

Really cool. With an enhanced gameplay, I could play for hours ^^

Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:07am

Fun concept, I like how this plays out.

Spelchan says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 7:20am

Has a lot of potential. Game starts too quick with very little time to get first trap placed. When lose there does not appear to be way to restart game other than quitting and restarting. Money too hard to earn.

dj_pale says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 12:11am

Agree with previous comments, good start and take on theme but rough start and too little money earned.

Jan 1, 2013 @ 12:54pm

I like where this is heading. You intending to finish it?

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]