December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

In My Evil Dream

by pirate-rob - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a game where you decided if you want to play as bad or as good. Because of that, I recommend that if you played it the first time and liked it then play it again as the opposite side. No goats unfortunately.

Controls:
WSAD - movement
Left Mouse - Sword
Right Mouse - Bow

Can you defeat your Nightmare?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#63Audio3.43
#137Mood3.25
#272Graphics3.17
#319Fun2.92
#321Innovation2.95
#353Overall3.00
#382Humor2.47
#423Theme3.08
#742Coolness46%

Comments

loren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:47am

Cute, I liked the music :)

pirate-rob says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:09pm

Thanks!
Also Note to anyone who played this before this post: the game had a serious bug in it where it skipped the entire game, straight to the boss level, I have now fixed it.

fishbrain says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:15am

charming presentation. nice style.

ddionisio says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:17am

I like the fact that you don't have to play as the villain. Everything about this game oozes with cuteness, even the music! I chose the good side. I wasn't really sure how to beat that purple guy at level 3.

pirate-rob says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:33am

Arrow spam him? He's really hard to hit but he does eventually die, you can also hit him with your sword but it's risky as he has more chance to hit you then ;)

farmergnome says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:47am

Very Cute!

Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:32am

The presentation is good and the music is charming, gj!

pirate-rob says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:34am

Oh sorry ddionisio, I thought you meant nightmare, to defeat the purple guy on level three you need to try and remove all the corruption around him and then shoot him with arrows until his aura goes away.

Faust says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:56am

Cute game. The final boss is difficult to defeat.

Twigasaurus says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:29pm

Loved it :) very fun game and i like the final battle against Nightmare

Gravity Games says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:44pm

Its pretty good! I had a lot of fun with this game, especially on the dark side. I never was able to defeat the final boss though, its a bit too hard to hit something that fast with the bow... All in all, its a great game that you should make longer.

pirate-rob says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:59pm

Hmm, I would have made it longer but I didn't have enough unique enemies to make any more rooms that weren't repetitive.

mikemacdee says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:31pm

the screen port isn't great for me -- the font and some graphics are squiggly around the edges. and while the idea of corrupting a good dream into a nightmare is great, the execution is pretty weak. the music's adorable though.

h.attila says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:22pm

I liked that you can choose to be good or evil, nice presentation, too.

Freakill says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:24pm

Cool that you can decide whether be the villain or the good guy :) I liked the gameplay (despite a little bit difficult to "clean" or "evilize" the floor tiles) and is well balanced. Suffered a little bit with the first important jump :( But really nice and beautiful game (loved the rabbits hehehe).

pirate-rob says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:10am

Thank you, I also found it a bit tedious to clean up and corrupt the floor.

Zelen3d says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 12:53am

I liked having a bow. It made me feel powerful!

goerp says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 6:17pm

I like the bow, looks really good. Music was nice, in a next version you might make a different music if you choose evil?

leafo says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 6:14am

Interesting idea. I liked the two modes. Graphics are nice.

pirate-rob says ...
Jan 8, 2013 @ 8:14am

I will most likely make a number 2 or a revised version, in which case I'll add music for bad

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]