December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

You Are the Machine!

by apophenia - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first LD48 entry. It's pretty generic in idea and execution, but it's done!

I usually collaborate as an artist/UI designer. This is the first game that I've coded all on my own. As such, I spent the vast majority of the time just getting it to function.

That said, if there's something to be improved that you'd think would be obvious, especially if it's related to programming and/or performance, let me know.

Things I know could have been better: sound design, level design (I planned on doing power-ups & different starting patterns for bricks, but didn't have time to implement them), balancing.

I hope to eventually clean this up and upload it somewhere like Kongregate, so comments about what level you achieved, whether you thought the timers or brick allotments were too much/little, et cetera are greatly appreciated.

Made in Flixel with graphics in Photoshop CS5 and sounds from sfxr.

KNOWN BUGS: updated 12/16 17:05 - game overs triggered at higher levels sometimes kick you back to the play screen. If this happens, refresh. (Sorry!)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#126Innovation3.46
#251Theme3.46
#328Overall3.05
#335Fun2.89
#373Audio2.40
#543Graphics2.46
#588Mood2.33
#626Humor1.80
#670Coolness49%

Comments

jfroco says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:23am

Sometimes the ball slows down. It's a good twist to breakout clones. Congrats

Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:25am

I really like this take on a classic game to fit the theme. :D

SimianLogic says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:26am

Seems like you can just keep putting bricks in the corners--it's mostly a waiting game. The ball will speed up eventually and the paddle won't be able to keep up. Sound and graphics are good, wish there was a little more to do.

apophenia says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:05am

Well, poopy. I just discovered that the crashing bug doesn't just trigger on gameover screens, it appears to trigger on some timer expirations too. I think I know what's causing it; I might upload an additional version with a fix tomorrow.

Suese says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:00am

Interesting idea in theory, in practice it's a bit bland and easy. I do like the twist.

aneeslol says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:12am

Neat idea, this could definitely be really cool with some balancing.

Casino Jack says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:11am

Nice twist on a classic game. I didn't initially realise that I had limited bricks, so the first few times I was just clicking everything. Would be cool if you could click several times on the same brick to increase the number of hits needed to destroy it.

vrav says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:31am

Arkanoid is an old favourite. This hurt my brain at first, and I'm still not sure what sort of strategy to employ. It's bind-boggling like that, in an engaging sort of way.

ChainedLupine says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:45am

Nice idea! Game works though it sometimes gets stuck. The ball seems to lodge itself somewhere offscreen and the paddle just wobbles in the corner, trying to get to it, and I eventually lose.

apophenia says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:59pm

@ChainedLupine has that happened in the middle of a level, or does it only happen between levels? Because if it straight-up happens in the middle of a level, I have even bigger problems than I thought. ;D

01010111 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:11pm

When I click and drag, it places tons of bricks on one placeholder, and they all are destroyed if the ball hits them. Other than that, I thought the design was great, the colors were cool, and I loved the font you used!

Nsmurf says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:32am

Nice, but it feels like randomly placing blocks.

Hume says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:33am

I like how there are two tasks going on -- keep some blocks on screen, but try to accelerate the ball to defeat the player.

A larger playing board and smaller elements might give more time for strategy.

h8urf8 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:26pm

Really nice! Great idea though.

PapyGaragos says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:52pm

Awesome :)
Nice idea, simple and well executed

Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:49pm

Really nice idea! It seems you will eventually win by just placing the blocks and waiting the paddle to miss the ball though, but this very solid entry.

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:11am

Hahaha, I like how you playing around theme=) Really good idea. Maybe you can improve that by adding various types of bricks and bonuses in it.

pereubu says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 11:04am

Great idea, i've only seen a few concept where you play the evil gameplay mechanic (and i enjoyed it :3)

azurenimbus says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 12:43am

Wow, really liked your twist. I don't remember ever playing a game like this.

Jan 6, 2013 @ 12:55am

Congratulations on your first entry!. Solid, simple yet extremely fun! It has a few bugs, yes, but it's one of the most clever games I've seen so far. Kudos!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]