December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Two Souls

by chaosBrick - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Two Souls is a hybrid platformer and puzzler (maybe?), where you control your character as well as your own enemies.
Reach the end of a level to get warped to the next, but don't let an enemy touch it!

***EDIT***
Just after submitting, I was able to find a way around the wall jump glitch. I then waited a bit for more critics about the game to upload a fixed postcompo version which you can play it here:
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/74880983/Two%20Souls%20-%20Fixed/index.html

It has also more solid speed (feels less slippery) and two fixed bounding boxes (Spike and Portal, both were twice as big as they meant to be ._.)


Make sure to rate the actual entry please, though.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#129Innovation3.44
#169Audio3.00
#242Overall3.22
#335Fun2.89
#388Mood2.73
#460Graphics2.72
#677Theme2.29
#948Coolness32%

Comments

deathray says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:00am

Great concept (were you planning for parallel worlds?), and I love the way the people die.
I had a real hard time jumping over the triangles in the second board though.

loren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:38pm

Great sounds and fast responding controls!

zimra says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:53am

Nice concept and gameplay !

Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:23pm

very cool concept and very evil! I think the movement needs a little deceleration, because it feels too slippery to be very fun. But I can see it being *very* fun! Top marks for innovation and theme

Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:57pm

I beat it! Excellent game and concept. Just a few bugs but awesome gameplay.

ceronman says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:59pm

This is a hard game. But it's very fun. I would improve the controls, acceleration makes movement very hard. Also doesn't fit so well with the theme. Nice work!

hypp says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:01pm

Nice but hard!

DaGamesta says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:02pm

Nice game concept. I don't like how slippery it feels, but aside from that, each level was rather interesting, building off of other concepts and adding new concepts. A bit difficult, but very interesting. Keep up the good work.

CireNeikual says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:04pm

I like the concept! The death particle effects look very nice. The controls were awfully slippery though. Also, are you supposed to be able to wall jump? I was able to skip large portions of levels by hugging a wall and pressing jump in order to float to the top.

JFlegle says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:13pm

I like your idea, the controls are too loose for me.

dek says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 1:56pm

After spending 5 minutes trying to get behind the first triangle, I gave up. Sorry but I think its start is way to difficult.

Jan 4, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Nice music!

azurenimbus says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 8:26pm

Jesus, the controls need to calm down a bit! :) But at the same time it created this nice, frantic pace.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]