December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Woodcut Ted

by rujo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

here's my entry for the competition:
Woodcut Ted

I made the game in about 8/10 hours (mostly today)

Its a simple game where you play as a woodcutter that has to cut as many trees as possible without getting arrested by a ranger.

CONTROLS:

ARROWS: MOVE
Z: CHOP TREES

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#164Humor3.13
#180Fun3.24
#183Graphics3.45
#200Overall3.29
#210Audio2.91
#245Mood3.00
#265Innovation3.08
#444Theme3.03
#670Coolness49%

Comments

Static_boy123 says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 11:55pm

Very fun game once I figured out a strategy I used it and it worked. I didn't play too much so I wasn't sure but, were the levels getting harder?

Bemmu says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:42am

Feels polished. Nice example of a game that uses the allowed dev time well.

wallmasterr says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:43am

awsome adictive game with nice pixel graphics. is there a name for this new look of pixels ?

misson20000 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:59am

It took me a while to figure out how to chop down trees. I didn't really like that

ziomorti says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:04am

Cool! Loved the graphics!

rujo says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:03am

Hi.. thank you!

@Static_boy123
No, levels are not getting harder :V It was planned to be like this but it was one of the many features I couldnt add due to time :/

@wallmasterr
I guess we can call it "fake-scanlines-like-big-pixel-look"

Lidfrid says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:17am

Great job there! I tried to chop down the ranger.... i didn't succeeded xD

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:13pm

It's good I would have liked to beat up the ranger though >.<

lucky.luddite says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:22pm

Chopping down trees is strangely satisfying. Dunno if it is the sound or the screen shake.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:04pm

Lovely little game, the graphics were cool and it all fitted together nicely

HeyChinaski says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:18am

That pesky Ranger! Very fun to play and nice graphics.

celsyum says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:01am

good idea. Needs more improvements.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:02am

Original :D Save the Trees!!!

SmallDeadGuy says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:06am

Kinda fun. Nice and polished

Jiddo says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:08am

Felt far too good to cut down trees for being such a mindless task. A well realized game for the short amount of dev time, wish the menu music looped and continued playing during the game.

Ardale says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:17am

Really addictive and I love this graphic style! Ranger must die!!

robashton says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:58am

I finally worked out what to do and then a tree fell on me, nice touch.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:34pm

Left you some feedback on Kongregate, but I really enjoyed it. I really like how different your game is, even with the same general concept. Awesome work!

If I had to knitpick, I would say it would be nice to see some WASD controls added.

Stryphe says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:27am

Nice game!

atraxgames says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:28pm

Nice pixelly style :)

Ludonaut says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:10pm

Feels very polished considering the dev time. The scanlines are a nice touch.

Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:25am

Made me laugh and couldn't really figure out why Luigi didn't want Mario to cut down the trees. Nice job!

gnx says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:46pm

Good solid controls, I like the fact you need to avoid the falling trees, it is a nice secondary mechanic.

Simple and everything works well, solid entry.

Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:58am

Pretty solid. Liked the art and music. Player controls were a little laggy in response and I think you could tighten them up. Didn't really like that trees could fall on me and that I had to chop them from the bottom? Feedback on cutting down trees felt great. Lot of potential here so I'd keep working on it. Solid idea.

naufr4g0 says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 9:22am

A very fun game, when I manage how to fell the tree without getting hit. Very good pixel graphics. Love chopping sound and visual effect. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]