December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Goat Slaughterbox

by GIB3D - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A sandbox for killing goats. Punch, throw or grind your way to happiness.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#305Graphics3.08
#359Humor2.55
#559Theme2.75
#570Audio1.43
#644Fun2.17
#645Innovation2.25
#661Mood2.14
#701Overall2.25
#776Coolness45%

Comments

GIB3D says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 9:05am

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/17783172/Ludum%20Dare%2025/Goat%20Slaughterbox%20-%20Ludum%20Dare%2025.html

There's the link to the actual webplayer. I had renamed the "Windows" slot to Web and put the link in there and that was a bad idea. It's not letting me edit the page right now for whatever reason.

GIB3D says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 4:00pm

Fixed the link up top

ChainedLupine says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:41am

Well, it's pretty much what it says on the tin!

I could not find the BBQ pit (?) shown in the screenshot, however. I am sad.

GIB3D says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:51pm

Look down when you first start ;)

iiAtlas says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:59am

Hmmm ran incredibly poorly for some reason. Hands were glitching in and out of view, and when I punched it stayed forever. I was running at around 6-10fps (if I had to guess). Any clue whats up? It could definitely be on my end :)

Lashiz121 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:26pm

pretty good game but I would like a campaign mode

brantkings says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:31pm

It let me punch the goats but the punches didn't do anything oh god! Anyway, it was ok.

Eelfroth says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:39pm

I tossed some goats into the meat grinder, punched others to tiny bits and laughed like a maniac.

loren says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:07pm

Punch the goat, win the game! Works great for me :)

GIB3D says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:38am

@iiAtlas
I was running out of time and didn't see the animation glitch till the last minute. It only happened to me on the very last time I tried to test the game. Also I'm not sure why it could be running slowly for you because there's not a whole lot going on inside the game for that to happen.

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 12:14pm

The Idea is so good but the game have a lot of bugs! fix and add music and it will be awesome!

Dec 25, 2012 @ 12:58pm

Nice idea, but buggy as hell. The arms don't recede after punching. And what's with the horrible shacks? Do they serve a purpose? Are they there to remind us of the horrible (nonexistant) human settlement the player is destroying? The game could be improved by just leaving them out :P

dek says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 2:32pm

Hmm, I am missing the "game" in this :/ Running smooth though.

GIB3D says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 9:26am

@WiseGAMER
There's so much I wanted to do with this. I wanted to add upgrades and a point system but I was dealing with bug-after-bug and was running out of time.

@matthias_zarzecki
The arms were using an IK script to move them at first but that started bugging out. I added animation later which worked but it stops playing for unknown reasons. The shacks are a free model on Unity's asset store (I needed something quick). I was originally going to make it look like some middle-eastern place with mud houses (is that what they're made out of?).

I tried, I just wish I had more time.

GIB3D says ...
Jan 8, 2013 @ 4:13pm

Thank you all for your honest opinions and ratings ;) Hopefully the next game will be better.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]