December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

GiTA

by pnkthrepwood - Jam Entry

Chaos and mayhem in the city!

Genre: Arcade/stealth

=== Background ===
Move the villain around there and kill as many citizens as possible without being caught by the police.

Use your knife, do the job and get the money. Hide in the surroundings if things turn bad!

Try to no get caught, though. If nobody sees you killing anyone you are in shape to go. Otherwise, time to run...

=== Controls ===
*W/A/S/D: Move the villain
*Spacebar: Stab with your knife

=== Some notes ===
The AI is what makes this game fun. If you kill a citizen and nobody sees you, the police won't come. If a random citizen sees the corpse, he will be alerted, but won't recognize you. And if he recognizes you, he will remember you for the rest of the game.
Try to be observant with the surroundings and you will enjoy it more! : D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#48Fun(Jam)3.44
#112Mood(Jam)3.07
#112Innovation(Jam)3.13
#120Theme(Jam)3.50
#137Overall(Jam)3.13
#200Humor(Jam)2.33
#218Audio(Jam)2.27
#246Graphics(Jam)2.63
#990Coolness28%

Comments

Fonserbc says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:28am

Amazing! Great fun!

Those policemans are hard to get rid of :P

awppy says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:45am

I love how you can hide in the tall grass to evade pursuers. It took me a while to get used to differentiating between policemen and regular folks, and it's really cool that citizens have different levels of awareness when you walk by them.

Some of them are aware of the fact that I just knifed 50 people in the past five minutes.

budsan says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:41am

Thank you guys for commenting :D
We really put a lot of effort to IA for being fun and we believe it's what makes this game fun, hope you enjoyed.

mastazavr says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:44pm

Very nice game It's fun and working. Good job!

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:12pm

It's a nice experimentation !

otakgod says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:06pm

This was awesome slashing pallo experience

eXpl0it3r says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:07pm

Very nice indeed! :)

Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:43am

Fun game, I liked the frustratingly normal walkspeed; made you feel even more like a deviant.

goerp says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:29pm

that was suprising
very quickly you go looking for people in blind alleys, stalking them and if someone sees youm you try to silence them
a quick as you can.
So you turn into a real jack the ripper. Great game mechanic. The graphics were simple but good.
It could use some more sounds, like people screaming, shouting, cops yelling.

And crime really doesn't pay: what a bunch of poor people!

AyCe says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 12:38am

I'm just interested, how fast does this game run? And how many citizens does it have? Really cool stealth game, I liked that mechanic: You stab someone, quickly grab the money, quickly run away, hope nobody has seen you. Nice game! :)

fishbrain says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 11:18am

Cool!... Wow, once the cops are onto you, you're history!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]