December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

ROTTEN ROBBER

by Start_ - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In Rotten Robber, you will need to inflict evil when it is right to avoid dying 6 different deaths. You have 2 ways to win, which hopefully the bugs that at times block the hostage killing key won't be too much of a hindrance.
I hope you enjoy testing at least a little bit, this is the first game I ever do solo, and I've only known OOP for a couple months, so if you look at the source and find it to be lacking in some ways, I welcome your comments on what I should have done differently. And I plain and simple didn't have time to even touch the art, so let's say the "UI" - ahem - is fairly feng shui.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#525Theme2.83
#637Innovation2.26
#679Humor1.56
#719Mood1.78
#741Fun1.77
#752Overall2.00
#766Graphics1.19
#776Coolness45%

Comments

Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:50pm

i dont understand what is the goal of this game and how to achieve that...also the instruction should be bigger
game need a lot of work to be playable in my opinion

jerrre says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:41am

When I restarted it did not fully resest

Suese says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:42am

Needs better instructions.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:21pm

Rather unclear as to the purpose of all the different parameters (cops, hostages, sidekicks, etc) and what, if any, effect they have. I got 2 codes, pressed r to retire and the game didn't respond anymore.

Mezzomatto says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:08am

Alright idea. Could do with more complex safe codes and perhaps a record of numbers tried (see the board game Mastermind). Took a while to work out how the hostage killing thing worked.

h.attila says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:04pm

It wasn't clear how to use the hostages, sidekicks, etc. Other than that, it's a simple game of Mastermind. Bank robbery definitely fits the theme.

Start_ says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:11pm

The idea was to create a tension between the hostage killing which makes you pretty damn evil pretty quick, thus triggering cops to arrive on scene you, and just trying your luck on the combination (which grows in complexity, as does payout). I couldn't keep at it on the monday, and frankly I'm very much of a beginner in terms of programming, as in I've had a 2 months python course on coursera and some tinkering before but that's it. So I'm not even sure I would have had the technical skill necessary to do what I wanted. I did learn a lot though, including why global variables suck so badly, which incidentally the wrap up conference of this class, which was just finishing, mentionned. The next day. Happy place. Happy place.

Start_ says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:12pm

Any of you been busted by the cops? Tried doing a keyser soze? managed to retire without the game bugging? (sorry for the crappy bugs again..)

Clavus says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:34pm

Couldn't quite see where you were going with this.

fishbrain says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 7:17am

Simple little idea that has some promise if developed further.

GameRespect says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 10:43am

I really like the concept, but it just needs more polish. Nice try though!

eli says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 8:28pm

Oh my goodness.
This was a really special game.
I haven't played a lot of LD games this time, but this one was unique (so far) in making me feel really, really bad for being an evil villain. I think the choices you get (especially after getting caught by the police) are really strong and well made. You made a really cool mix between Mastermind, Choose Your Own Adventure, and those games where you have to choose when you "retire".

I do not agree with the other comments that you need better instructions. I found the chaos in the game really pulled me in, making it more realistic.

Also, congratulations on your first solo game!!! Good luck!

Start_ says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 3:12pm

@eli thanks for the kind words, I can't tell you how happy it makes me that you enjoyed the choices I had cooked up. @GameRespect you're 100% right, less complexity and a less buggy implementation will be the keywords for my next attempt!

bugninja says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 9:39pm

I couldn't figure out what to do unfortunately.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]