December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Fugitive X

by frosty - Jam Entry

Fugitive X is a turn-based stealth game.

Escape the dark metropolis without getting caught...

Objectives
- Avoid the robot police. They move whenever you move.
- They shoot one turn after spotting you.
- Sneak through alleyways, where robots cannot follow.
- Robots never shoot through innocent bystanders.
- Lead robots into the explosive crates.

Controls
- Move: WASD or Arrows
- Wait: Space
- Enter: Freeze robots once per level

Scoring:
- Each move: -1
- Die: -100
- Win: +1000
- Complete level without using a Freeze: +100

Created with:
- Code: Snax (haXe)
- Sounds: sfxr
- Music: FL Studio
- Graphics: Photoshop

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#56Mood(Jam)3.42
#67Innovation(Jam)3.39
#75Overall(Jam)3.43
#88Fun(Jam)3.18
#92Audio(Jam)3.25
#155Graphics(Jam)3.25
#251Theme(Jam)2.74
#267Humor(Jam)1.88

Comments

drmanitoba says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:18am

Really love the look of this one. Those pesky drones find you fast.

CireNeikual says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:01am

A fun puzzle game! It took me a while to figure out that those gray things destroy the bots!

jfroco says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:15am

Great gfx and nice sounds. Loved the step by step mechanic. Excellent. A little too hard. Kudos for using Haxe. Congrats.

johndb says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 2:56am

Great job! I really liked the bystander element, they saved my neck a few times.

Ashkin says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 2:56am

I like it! Nice moody, dystopia style setting. While I would've preferred if stealth was involved via line of sight on the robots or something, I did enjoy the innovative game play that the robots' all-encompassing awareness gave rise to.

joecarrot says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 3:05am

Great! I actually beat it without using the freeze.

rylgh says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 3:07am

Very cool, like a puzzle game dressed up as a roguelike. One of the most focused and polished games I've played in this LD, very nice job!

cwalter5 says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 3:43am

Nice idea, great sound, good graphical style. My only complaint is that the robot AI always knows where you are making the game feel like you have to purposely exploit the pathing to beat the maps. Change that and it will be a lot better.

Dec 24, 2012 @ 1:04pm

Nice work on the atmosphere!

AdricZero says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 3:58pm

Great little game here. I played it through and enjoyed the experience. Very good inspiration that a great game can be created with very few graphic assets.

HeyChinaski says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 6:04pm

Great style and clever gameplay. Well done!

frosty says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 10:56pm

Thanks, cwalter. Exploiting the pathing is actually the core gameplay. It's partly inspired by an old ASCII game called 'robots' where you try to get the enemies to run into each other.

wally2069 says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 11:12pm

Nice little game but the drones were difficult to evade

RawBits says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 6:28pm

I like this. You leave the solution entirely to the player and give him all the time needed - nice balance. Gfx and sfx are pure and simple as they should be.

Good entry, thank you!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]