December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Black Was Sad

by eventhandler - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Black was sad.

Black lived in Dora's paintbox. And Dora loved to paint. In the five years, two months and sixteen days of her life, Dora had painted three hundred eighty-five and three-quarter rainbows. But not once had she used Black.

So Black got angry.

In his anger, Black started to shoot colors at his former friends in the paintbox. By mixing them with parts of himself he tried to turn them into black, too. If he couldn't be part of Dora's rainbows, nobody else should be!

Black knew, that if he could outnumber the other colors, he would win. But he also was aware that he only had a limited number of shots to achieve his evil goal before he would have to surrender.

And thus the fight began.



How to play:

Billiard meets minigolf meets color mixing! Click on any instance of Black, drag and release to shoot a primary color (Red, Yellow or Blue) in the indicated direction. Press key "1" to select Red, "2" to select Yellow or "3" to select Blue.

If the color you shoot hits another color, the hit color will be blended with the shot color (e.g. hitting Red with Yellow will turn Red into Orange).

You'll win if -- by clever color mixing -- you have more Black objects in the game than Colored ones. You'll lose if you have no more shots left.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#40Innovation3.90
#107Overall3.52
#112Mood3.32
#156Fun3.29
#164Graphics3.52
#325Humor2.65
#436Theme3.05
#930Coolness33%

Comments

L says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:41am

The concept is refreshingly original, and the game dynamic itself isn't too shabby. Kind of wish the colour selection fitted into the interface better.

rumachine says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:17pm

Really cool game!

Zazibar says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:19pm

Very original concept! I could see this being a fun iOS/Android game.

har_g says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:20pm

Good game. I don't feel like a villain, but the puzzle game is well realized.

I'm not fan of puzzle game in fact but i will not low rank your game.

pfirsich says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:24pm

This is a really cool idea! But I'm of the impression that I can't really shot the colors into the directions I want to. Also, to be honest, I have no clue how this actually works and it's really hard for me to make progress.

LeCherLich says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:25pm

This is a great idea, you could try making a version with additive color mixing. I found it a little hard to launch the balls, I thought it could be more intuitive to drag in the direction where you want the ball to go.

Geoege says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:26pm

Concept is real had great time with your game.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:27pm

Nice :3

Smaxx says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:28pm

Interesting and entertaining concept. The graphics are minimalistic but sufficient. It could need some sound and I think once you've understood the gameplay, the only thing that can stop you are bugs or stuck marbles I guess. One badly placed orb and you're essentially screwed up.

bentog says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:24pm

I didn't get it, sometimes I shot a ball into other ball and its color didn't change at all. Besides that, I can see this has a lot of potential!

tim_u says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:26am

Solid game. I like the idea of Dora's shunned color. There must be a plethora of other, unhappy, shunned items in Backpack....

epiplon says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:39am

This is a really innovative, casual game!
That kind of game you happily play to pass the time.
The ideal target to this is surely the mobile platforms.
Great work on this!

eventhandler says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:20am

Thanks for all your feedback!

@betong: If the hit color didn't change, it's because it already contained the primary color you shot at it. For example: Green consists of Yellow and Blue, so it won't change if it gets hit by Yellow or Blue. You need to hit it with Red to turn it into Black. I know that the color mixing part can be a bit confusing first, but it's quite logical if you come to think of it.

joekinley says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:21pm

What an adorable game you made there.
Took me a while to figure out how to chose colors in order to turn other colors into other colors. Then it took me an even longer while to be able to do something I wanted to do. Though I was not able to win yet. But I came to level 4? So I think I figured it out.

Awesome game. Great work. The graphics were best, the overall concept was awesome. Nice approach to the theme, angry little black that actually is just sad :(

Husky says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:35pm

At first, I am not sure how to play, then I got it, and it's fun!
I like your story, very cute :)

Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:25pm

This is a great idea! Love the story and the concept :), Nice work!

But it could do with a lot of polishing. The Text-intro is way too long. Controls are unintuitive. It isn't really clear what to do. and it takes excrutiangly long until you can make a move again.

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 7:27pm

The story is really nice, and it fits the game.
I like the combination of color puzzle and ability.
It could be interesting to work on an enhanced version.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]