December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

How To Be A Super Successful Politician

by Scott Baker - Jam Entry

Make the tough decisions that politicians have to make. How to raise money, exploit the people you represent, crush your opponent in the polls, all while ignoring your actual duties.

How To Play:
The goal of the game is simple. By the time your campaign is over (12 months) gain more support at the polls than your opponent. If you gain more support than your opponent, then you move on to the next higher level of government.

To do this, choose from three categories of what to do, and choose an action from those categories. Each action will increase or decrease your and your opponent's support.

Each action will also increase or decrease the overall "health" of your district. But it doesn't matter; you can let it go to zero. All that matters is that you get re-elected! In-fact, if you actually do your job it's harder to get re-elected.

Which is the point of the game. Most politicians don't actually do their jobs, they just work to get re-elected. ;)

Note on the current build of the game:
This is a work in progress. I did not get as much time as I wanted to work on the game. I wanted different choices for each level, different map pictures per level, a profile of your politician in the upper right, and different win/lose screens and descriptions. But I ran out of time.

This is also a solo entry. But the submit was not working for me on Sunday night, so I had to enter this as a Jam entry on Monday morning. Doesn't matter. I don't want to win, I just had fun participating.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1189Coolness0%

Comments

joekinley says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:06pm

Kinda buggy entry. First time playing I lost and the second time I couldn't hit any buttons. Then reloading the whole game crashed somehow.

Though I liked the game. It made me think what to do. Tried to be a good person with health and all, and were defeated really bad. I kissed babies and recited religious texts.

You really had to be the evil dude to win this thing I guess. Nicely done.

Nice game, really good work. Reminded me a bit of this Jones game.

Catmoo says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:07pm

I quite enjoyed playing it :) Although I thought it was a shame that I'm too much of a nice person to do the evil things!

I didn't get re-elected so I pretty much lost? Would have been nice to have a results screen at the end, showing how badly you did and a little image of the population hating you etc.

Otherwise great way to use the theme!

Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:09pm

You say that this should have been a compo entry, but it feels a lot more complete than most LD48 games. In particular, the visual style is very coherent.

It's a shame that you essentially only ever need to use a small amount of the options (until it gets hard), but obviously it would be a lot of work to make all the different options worthwhile in different situations.

I had a lot of fun playing this!

Scott Baker says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:09pm

Thanks for the comments guys. You are right, the only way to really win is to be evil.

blackmagic says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:41pm

Pretty fun ! Cannot resume after a defeat. Game is interesting but difficulty is a bit high.

Atomic says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:23pm

Doesn't run in FF, only in Chrome. I like the basic idea and know this is supposed to be a parody but why would funding education or reducing corruption decrease support? IMHO it should be more realistic (politicians would still be the villains)

Houly says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:45pm

I always waited that something happens on the map. But nice use of theme and now I know how to be a successfully politician :)

fishbrain says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 2:41pm

Interesting idea, well done!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]