Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:
Sat, 01 Nov 2014 00:12:00 UTC

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014
Sat, 06 Dec 2014 01:00:00 UTC

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.


Ludum Dare 31:

Ludum Deals

???

 

Recent:

MiniLD #XX


Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

My Little Terrorist - tomc - Jam Entry

In My Little Terrorist you receive requests from common sponsors of terrorism to perform (occasionally suicidal) destructive acts of murder. To do this you must gather recruits and ingredients for bombs, and manage them effectively.

This was an effort by a team. You can ask questions or follow us on twitter: @tccoxon, @nerdofgamers, @fractallambda.

View tomc's journal. | View all entries by tomc

Ratings

Coolness62%
#38Theme(Jam)3.94
#80Innovation(Jam)3.30
#121Overall(Jam)3.21
#148Humor(Jam)2.67
#159Mood(Jam)2.83
#189Fun(Jam)2.70
#213Graphics(Jam)2.90

Comments

8bitDamage says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:40pm

Kinda hard to get into but has a deep mechanic.

Nonakesh says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:50pm

Is it just me, or does the recruitment not work?

tomc says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:56pm

Recruitment has only a probability of succeeding each. Sorry that wasn't clear.

We were really quite limited on time so it's lacking a lot of polish.

Digiraze says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:03pm

Is there an end game? Where your notoriety reach a certain level?

Digiraze says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:04pm

@Nonakesh I notice the best way to recruit is to cancel the command and try again.

tomc says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:29pm

You win when your notoriety reaches 1000. It's doable in about 5-10 minutes.

Ariake81 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:52am

decent concept and good sprite design!

Mezzomatto says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:35am

Just fantastic! Slightly tricky controls at parts but certainly more than impressive for LD. Really well balanced mechanics and very fun. I blew up the damn moon! I love the quirk of a terrorist cell being a factory style program. One of the best I've played this LD.

Skye says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:46pm

I didn't really see how to play for awhile. I like the idea of this though.

goulding57 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:03pm

Loved it. Cool art style, deep mechanic. Had a good time.

maiev says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:17pm

Got very addicting once you have a decent operation running though initially recruitment didn't yield anything for a very very long time. The pathing of the terry's really impressed me and I'm really curious how you handled that.

tomc says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:22pm

The pathfinding is just straightforward A*. It's much less scary than it seems:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/A*_search_algorithm

TyrusPeace says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:27pm

Surprisingly good "management sim" gameplay. Ran out of things to do rather quickly, but the last job was a pretty comical one!

Nicely done.

ceronman says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:34pm

Very nice game! I had a lot of fun playing it. I love crafting and gathering things. Took me some time to get 1000 notoriety points!

DaGamesta says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:02pm

Nice game as far as how deep the mechanic is. A bit of a slow start, but I was able to get into it. It seems the chances for recruiting were too low, but then again I probably killed off my henchmen far too quickly. I'd say this is relatively well done all things considered.

haxpor says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:17am

It's some what hard to guess what's the next action we should do for example after we finished making bomb, I just found out that I have to put it back to the shelf not holding it. Another thing is that I put an excess material to produce bomp, and it has gone as well, not sure if it's by design.

It's deep, that's the reason!

Cabral says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 1:53pm

It's cool, but it gets kind of boring because you have to stand around for a lot of time waiting for new jobs to appear. And you have to open and close the job window all the time, since new ones don't show up while it's open and there's often at least one job that you can't take for some reason, so the shadow on the monitor becomes useless. I guess you need an "Ignore" button for the jobs.

Sometimes I was clicking my terrorists but couldn't select them, which is a bit frustrating. I think it only happens when they're moving somewhere automatically, but still.

The rules are a unclear sometimes, like whether of not opening a window will pause the rest of the game or not. It would also be nice to know how much notoriety a job will give you.

It has these little problems, but it's a nice game, I wish there wasn't so much waiting time. The graphics weren't amazing, but they did their job. Good work!

krutech says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 4:36pm

Cool mechanics, took me a while to get into.

Ace says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 4:44pm

Pretty interesting game, took me a while to realize exactly what I needed to do but after that it seemed like there wasn't anything like an enemy in it. As long as the resources kept flowing you could basically just sit and build bombs and use them to blow stuff up, never really losing notoriety at all.

deathray says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 7:58am

Great gameplay! I stuck with it to the end.

Mago says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 12:03pm

Interesting and rather complex game, some emails make me laugh

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]