December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Bad Guys in the Power

by raarlac - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hey guys, before complaining anything about the theme please, play through the end and watch the cutscenes with calm. The theme is not that explicit like it seems to be.

[Arrow Keys to move. SPACE to jump and double jump.]

You are unemployed! Start your journey to find a job because bad guys are in the power!


(The game was a lot bigger than it is now. I lowered the difficulty so everyone could watch the ending)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#82Audio3.36
#93Humor3.43
#192Mood3.13
#194Overall3.30
#213Fun3.15
#372Graphics2.93
#404Innovation2.77
#611Theme2.57

Comments

noKid says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:56pm

Simple, but efficient !

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:00pm

Not bad, man!
Storyline is so intrigues...

foksa says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:43pm

When I open web page game window is to small, part of the content is missing

raarlac says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:23pm

@foksa try using chrome ;)

gesangbaer says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:44pm

well done sir.

nolacoaster says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:06pm

Liked the paralax & exploding animation. Not sure I get the theme!

JaJ says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:13pm

Very effective graphics style and very interesting story. I felt the controls were a bigger factor in difficulty than level design.

joekinley says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:14pm

I liked the mood, the graphics and the audio. You did a great job with the polish.
Though the cutscene in the middle was rather annoying. And after that everything got weird.
Just on the first real switch-mechanic-level I jumped left of the pit and never was able to get back (i was supposed to get to the right). I did not want to start over as the level right before the goat took me forever to get past.
Still I liked the overall mood in your game as well as the aesthetics.

Great work and congratulations.

BipolarMike says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:18pm

Well done, though I never felt like a villain. Cut scenes could be cut a bit shorter too ;)

JoeCool17 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:27pm

Way too long of a loading screen- at least have some sort of animated sprite to let the user know it's doing something- I almost submitted a bug report!
I *love* the aesthetic- the parallax effect, the background, everything. Bravo, sir, bravo. I also like the music
I don't like the wall jumping, though. On just the second level with wall jumping I got stuck and couldn't get out, giving up at that point. Then again, I don't like wall jumping in general, but I think some good level design could help fix that.
Overall, I'd say this was a great game, not sure about application to the theme, but still among the better ones.

raarlac says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:51pm

@joekinley man, I never thought of this possibility! I'm sorry =P Please play this version: https://dl.dropbox.com/u/19849504/LD25/LD25%20level4.html
it goes right to lvl 4 again :)

nickworks says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:34am

Very cool. Very punishing when the player dies, though.

Dioiminik says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:36pm

Your Game is pretty darn good in my opinion, but I think I found a bug: All textures, except the player (which is a cube) and part of the Background is black... I don't know if you intended it to be like that, but It's not really playable as I can't see where to go... :(

SunShiranui says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:37pm

one of the best games of the compo for me!

MaTX says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:40pm

Although the platforming sections could need some tuning/polishing, the overall experience was great and the idea was really funny. Nice meta interpretation of the theme!

FrederickK says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:34pm

Very challenging game. I loved it!

rylgh says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:56pm

Ahhh this is pretty great. Reminds me of Bitless. Really liked the 4th wall breaking.
Stuck on a level but will try again later. Some levels are so mean...

Also great job on topping my leaderboards... goddamnit you are much better than me at my own game!

monomanio says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:47pm

That was pretty cool. Very simple, but clean and ncie art. Nice audio as well!

CireNeikual says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:12pm

Well done! I rage quit before I got to the end though! I think it would be nice if there were some sort of visual indicator for when the next control-change will occur. That, or shorter levels, since having to restart the entire level because a control change came by surprise is a bit annoying. Still, it was quite fun! Lots of content for only 48 hours!

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:10am

What a surprising game! It started a bit, well, another platformer with out character animation and it took me a while to find the jump key... and then it really grew and blossomed and kept surprising and upping my expectations!

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 9:22pm

There is some reverse GLaDOS relation in this game. I like it.

Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:00pm

Nice work! Love the low-fi aesthetic and music.

Respawn-time was sometime irritating. I don't want to wait 1 second. THe longest time I am willing to wait is ZERO seconds.

Also, the intro was horrible. There is no need whatsoever to have a non-game-video at all. The information could'Ve easily been conveyed in the level, without making the player wait.

Still solid!

lotusgame says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 11:18am

The intro is a little long. It's a solid platformer. Well done !

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 8:38pm

Ridiculously hard. It seems that you kinda ignored the theme then slapped in some "I'm a villain" at the last minute. You could have easily renamed this "Block Parkour" and no one would have noticed a clash.

The gameplay was rather fun, however unoriginal. Seemed like an extended version of Spuck.

Beanalby says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 8:45pm

Solid mechanics for difficult platformer, a bit to much player trolling for my tastes though (guess which path! nope, you chose wrong, dead!)

csanyk says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 2:16am

I didn't care much for the wall-jump mode. Losing control of your horizontal motion makes for a really difficult, but also very limited style of play. The story parts were well done, and amusing, but I don't really like a lot of narration and cutscenes in my games, personally.

Jan 6, 2013 @ 7:54pm

The game refuses to run for me. After the very long load screen hung at 97%, I refreshed. It started up, but then refused to actually do anything. It showed the credits, stalled for 15 seconds, then showed the title screen and became completely unresponsive.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]