December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Mothership: The Sequel

by youdonotexist - Jam Entry

Due to the incredible popularity of Mothership: The Original, the developers at TDG! Studios were obliged (undoubtedly by gun point) to create a sequel. There was just one problem: everyone died in the first game when the Sun exploded, annihilating everyone the the solar system.

In a desperate attempt, one designer asked the question: "Can't we just make the same game from the Mothership's perspective?" And that is how Mothership: The Sequel came to be.

Controls are simple: The purple ship on the right is the Mothership. The green circles on the Mothership are your minions. Click on a minion and drag toward the Hero ship (left) and release. Continue doing this until the Hero is dead. Collect the health boxes in-between rounds by flinging Minions at them. Repeat until game is beaten.

Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness94%
#53Innovation(Jam)3.47
#84Fun(Jam)3.19
#111Theme(Jam)3.53
#141Overall(Jam)3.11
#199Audio(Jam)2.49
#214Mood(Jam)2.63
#225Humor(Jam)2.16
#263Graphics(Jam)2.47

Comments

Shugor says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:27am

A pretty basic idea, but entertaining nontheless. The game has a nice difficulty curve, and actually requires thinking to beat, rather than just minion-spamming. It's a little hard to pick up those health boxes in-between, making it even more challenging. I haven't gotten good enough at it to get too far yet, but it seems like a great game!

Rabbits... says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:17am

Path following was excellent, but it just took a moment to get acquainted with, overall great graphics...

raincole says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:19am

fun, and more strategical than I expected.

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:33am

I loved the click-and-drag to draw your flightpath idea. Well done.

Mezzomatto says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:25am

Nice.

blob says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:39am

Damn you Greyson ! I will be back !

tim_u says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:51am

I enjoyed the idea of the draw line mechanic, but it felt to slow to use. Maybe that is just me though. Otherwise I enjoyed the variety and progression of the enemies. Oh, and the health packs weren't clear the first time I encountered them.

psychopsam says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:29am

Great concept! I liked the touch screen feel to it. I got to Hero Goat. Easy to play, and pretty easy to master. A refreshingly polished game.

jerrre says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:44am

This game is pretty fun to play, seems made for touch screen. Some small comments tho:
I can allready hit an enemy before it is in view with the bullets i collect health with. Also the other way around, if an enemy is dead he still can kill me (may be intended)
also i did not find a way to restart with out refreshing

but i really liked the game play

lotusgame says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:44am

A game that works and with a challenge that gets harder after each lvl, thats nice :)
I hope you port this to mobile, will be more fun on a touch screen !

Bloodyaugust says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:41pm

Nicely done! The tablet port is especially awesome. Plus, you used my name in your game, so that was hawt.
@Blob: DAMN YOU FIRST, I'LL KILL YOU AGAIN.

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:58pm

Nice job!

blob says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:02am

Hahaha ! @Bloodyaugust

StMatn says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:38am

Amazing game! I've tried to master it for about an hour. Maybe I should use a proper mouse rather than a touchpad... I think it's highly addicting, although I join blob's rage about Greyson :D Would really like to play it on android.

Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:06am

Nice idea, I think it might be interesting to play this with touch gestures.

Bloodyaugust says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:50am

You put me in it, so big plus there. It was even more amazing on the tablet!

goulding57 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:37pm

Great idea for the theme. Hard game, great learning curve. Would like to see it polished, would be way fun with touch gestures.

Hatscat says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:57pm

Fun and nice, well done!

Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:15pm

Nice game. The idea is really good.

zatyka says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:32am

Very fun and simple. I wished there was some more blank space on the top, left, and bottom so the paths wouldn't need to go off the screen.

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:57am

Turns out your game punishes people who don't use their browser fullscreen. I didn't find this out until I accidentally grabbed the edge of the window when trying to grab what I thought was the only bullet (the front one). I wonder how many other people just tried to play your game without seeing that screenshot and also had that problem? And what about people with lower resolution monitors?

youdonotexist says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 2:28am

@Crowbeak: Yeah, I had some issues with getting the full-screen web player to play nicely with fullscreen. If the windowed version is too small/large, you can do a ctrl+ or ctrl- to shrink/grow the screen (click on the whitespace around the game window to give focus to the browser).

There's also a later build that changes to 4:3, since that provides a more consistent resolution between the two: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/5071647/games/Mothership-TS/Mothership-TS.html

Dec 22, 2012 @ 3:10am

I really like the idea of this. It begs to be played on a touch screen. I found the audio to be really irritating though, especially the relentless hero firing sound.

sclark39 says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 3:50am

I've seen this idea a bunch during this LD, but this is probably the most unique implentation. I love that you can draw the path of hte bullets. It would be cool to have more options on how to draw (symmetry/reflection mode for example to fire more than one at a time). This idea definitely has potential, and did a good job of prototyping the concept. :)

Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:16am

The way the difficulty scales works quite well. It forces the player to use different strategies in order to progress. Nice work!

deathray says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 5:06am

This is a very complete game! It's easy to learn, hard to master. I only wish there were some explosions, and maybe some power-ups.

eli says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 8:41pm

Awesome!!!! Not an easy game, but lots of fun to fling minions at the good guy. Great graphics, ship names, music, AI behavior .... everything is great.

Really loved it.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]