December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Vanillian

by TheSheep - Jam Entry

A very straightforward adventure game with only one ending. Walk with arrows. You can switch the music off with the "m" key.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#29Graphics(Jam)4.26
#109Audio(Jam)3.17
#153Humor(Jam)2.65
#159Mood(Jam)2.83
#216Theme(Jam)3.00
#270Overall(Jam)2.58
#272Fun(Jam)2.26
#283Innovation(Jam)2.17

Comments

ambv says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 8:11pm

Best fun I've had since yesterday.

thepixelbrain says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:43am

I love the graphics and the music!

joyboxed says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:27am

overall nice game, takes some time to figure out what to do, go check it out =)

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:59pm

Really nice graphics, but lacks of gameplay/interaction/evil stuff

blackmagic says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:08pm

Really beautiful...but too empty...:'(

Zanzlanz says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:45pm

The Windows version doesn't work for me. :(

tompudding says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:52pm

It looks lovely, and the title is fantastic.

Smaxx says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:57pm

Yep, doesn't work/react for me (Windows 7) - tried the executable as well as the .love file.

rxi says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:30pm

When I started the game the window (titled "Untitled") windows didn't repaint and after a few seconds windows said it wasn't responding. I began writing this reply and after about a minute I heard music and the game had finally started!

Upon pressing space on the title screen I encountered the non-repainting window once again, looking as if it had seemly crashed until finally the moment of fate:

The gameplay music began and the... window disappeared... the music continued to play, in fact, it is playing as I write this comment.

Pretty bummed out I didn't get to play this since both from the screenshots above and the screenshots you posted during the 48 hours, it, at the least, looks visually fantastic. I hope you get this fixed at some point so I can try it out! No doubt I'll be checking back later.

GFM says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:34pm

I also couldn't play it on Windows.
My OS is Windows 7 64bits.

I tried to execute to standalone and the .love (on 32 and 64 version of löve), but none worked...

I'll later log on ubuntu, then I'll try again. =D

ChainedLupine says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:20am

I hate to say it, but I agree with prior poster's comments, but there seems to be an issue with the game. My experience was exactly like @rxi, except the game did eventually come up.

I really like the art style, but it's very short. :)

TheSheep says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:27am

I will try to rebuild the windows binaries, sorry everyone.

TheSheep says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:37am

Apparently love2d's preloading sound and Windows don't like each other. I made a new Windows build that doesn't preload sounds. Try this. Sorry for the trouble again, I have no Windows box to test this on.

rxi says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:29pm

Ohmigosh. It looks like the new windows build works!


The game was microsized in play time and some of the collision was a bit dodgey! I did really enjoy the graphics, though, and for the most part, think it was one of the nicest art styles in all the entries I've seen, it'd be interesting to see a more fleshed out game made with a similar look to it.

I also encountered a funny crash on my first play through which felt like you were breaking the fourth wall:

http://imgur.com/saJa3

Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:35pm

Very good artstyle, but I couldn't understand what I was supposed to do. The toaster just kept saying malfunction. I love the art, and the engine was very smooth. OSX

heloheu says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:36pm

Oh my god, those graphics *_____________*

RHY3756547 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:36pm

haha, nice!

GFM says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:12pm

Tried again and this time it really worked. =D

The graphics and audio are really good!

caribou says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:33am

Nice art !

Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:38am

aaaaaahahahaha :) fantastic mood and graphics!

Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:57pm

This is the most charming entry I've seen yet.

The only complaint I have is that when I enter the laboratory building the game puts me right in front of the door, and both entering and exiting are done by moving "upwards", so you just flip in and out of the building over and over until you time your motion just right.

The humor is through the roof. :)

krutech says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 8:08pm

Really nice graphics. My first reaction was to fix the doomsday machine with a slice of bread =)

Spelchan says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 9:06pm

Windows version kept crashing on me so I was never able to finish the game. Too bad as it seemed interesting.

HeXoT says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 9:16pm

Nice graphics and hypnotic music

hirsch says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 9:29pm

The pretty drawn graphics and the music generate a nice atmosphere. Apart from some bugs (e.g. you sometimes can go through NPCs or you spawn on the wrong place when you change the screen) well implemented game which made me chuckle a bit ;)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]