December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Wandering ViIllain

by Almost - Jam Entry

Wander the procedurally generated countryside killing cylinders and burning trees.

To run:
Download, extract, and open the WanderingVillain file

If you have performance issues run it in the smallest window size or disable outlines.

If you have a Mac or a Linux machine and are able to compile a love game for it, I would appreciate the help.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#80Graphics(Jam)3.77
#242Mood(Jam)2.50
#244Overall(Jam)2.69
#244Fun(Jam)2.42
#253Innovation(Jam)2.46
#255Theme(Jam)2.69
#1048Coolness22%

Comments

HackThePanda says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:15am

I've messed with LÖVE some before in the past but didn't really like the way Lua worked. I've also been around the LÖVE community some and most games I saw we're pretty bad. But I must admit this game is pretty cool, especially since it's isometric 3d in a 2d engine. The terrain generation is also pretty cool. I wish there were a little more things to do though.

Almost says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:45am

Thanks!

I had a hard time thinking of things for the player to do, so I spent most of my time making it look nice and tuning the world generation.

Quantumvm says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:44am

Fun little game. Looks like it could have a lot of potential. It would be nice to see you expand on it.

Verrazano says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:47pm

So I clicked the "WanderingVillan.exe" and it just gave me a screen with a pig and lots of hearts. I assume this is the love logo - and not your game. Anything I'm doing wrong? :\

Gornova says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:54pm

I like it, need to be shaped into a proper game IMHO.

Works fine on .love version (with love installed.. do it! it's fast!)

graphics and generation are really good

Almost says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:10pm

Verrazano:
Ah! Thankyou for letting me know. I have fixed the exe and reuploaded it.

I made a minor fix within an hour or so of my first submission and I apparently had incorrectly compiled it at the time.

It should work now, let me know if there are any issues.

Beerman says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:18pm

I love how this looks, the blocky landscape is really cool. Just needs a bit more game, some populous-style terrain modification would work nicely.

DragonKN says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:40pm

i really enjoy the graphics =)

Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:45pm

It looks kind of nice and destroying things is always fun, but somehow there's not much of a game here yet. It would also be cool if you could look farther, but I suppose that would make it too slow at this point?

csanyk says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:25am

It doesn't seem it can end? Is there a way to die?

cwalter5 says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 4:08am

Nice art style. It's very simple, but very easy on the eyes. I want to give it more stars for fun as the controls and look had me hooked right out of the gate. Once I realized I couldn't die and there wasn't much to do besides randomly clicking cylinders and trees it got old fast.

However, I wouldn't see anything wrong with using this as a platform for your next game assuming you can get the performance bugs fixed by then.

leafo says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 1:21am

This game looks pretty cool. I wish it was more than a tech demo though, would be great fleshed out into an entire game.

Great use of love.

krutech says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 2:19pm

Nice world and aethetics. Too bad you didnt giev the player a goal.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]