About | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 8 days, 22 hours, 20 minutes, 43 seconds
  • October Ends: in 9 days, 22 hours, 32 minutes, 43 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 44 days, 23 hours, 20 minutes, 43 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Regnant - moomoo112 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    A game where you are the evil ruler of the world.
    Well, not Yet, almost.

    You just have to send out your minions to conquer the land.
    And of course defeat those pesky heroes that show up every now and then.

    Everything is controlled by your finger on android, or by the mouse on a computer.
    Tap to select. Double tap to select a minion and then tap to move it. Drag to view. Tap and hold a building you own to buy troops.
    A further explanation is included in the readme file.

    Made and tested on Win7 and a DroidX2. It should work on all OS's being a .jar, and all androids being an .apk, but without testing I cannot guarantee.
    As a warning the game is small on the android and the zoom is not working.

    O, and I did not have any time for sound or music, sorry.

    View moomoo112's journal. | View all entries by moomoo112

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #490Theme2.92
    #550Graphics2.43
    #617Humor1.82
    #619Audio1.11
    #620Innovation2.31
    #673Overall2.38
    #687Mood2.04
    #705Fun1.94

    Comments

    dalbinblue says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:49am

    I feel bad, but I have absolutely no idea of what I am supposed to be doing here. My minion die right at the beginning, I see I have money accruing but can't do anything with it, and all I seem to be able to do is kill other random characters.

    Rabbits... says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:05am

    Kinda a small viewport but still thought it was interesting, (just a goat)...

    mikemacdee says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:17am

    i really dig the scribbly art. will try getting into this more in-depth later.

    jerrre says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:37am

    Took a while before i got the controls, then it was fun for some time, but did not feel any pressure from an enemy or something

    Madball says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:15am

    Too fast-paced. You throw the player into the game without exlplaining anything, and as the player progresses throught the game, you give him little time just to look after his belongins.
    Despite it, it's an interesting and promising game. You should improve it.

    moomoo112 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:26pm

    yea, I kinda got it together too late to add any instructions, so I'm sorry it is so confusing
    you have to attack the structures to seize them, and at the same time defend what you have seized from 'heroes'
    you win when you own all of the places, at least you should, I never had time to play a full game through..

    Dir3kt says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:07pm

    I was a bit lost and the font is difficult to read so that didn't helped neither. Also it's hard to double click/tap a minion when it's already walking.

    I think this game could work with a bit more work on it.

    bushmango says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:20pm

    Ha it took me forever to take over my first tower... this could be really fun with some work. It was so hard to read that font tho :(

    Justin Kibbe says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:22pm

    Good start, I liked the idea and the scope of this game. With just a little more work it could go from an ok game to a great game. Good entry.

    PaulSB says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:23pm

    It looks pretty cool and I did kill some pesky heroes but it was pretty hard to see what was going on. The font was quite difficult to read at that size.

    Beerman says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:23pm

    Could do with having a much bigger window - at 1920x1080 you can't really read the text. 2x scale would be much easier to see what's going on.

    Joozey says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:50pm

    Extensive gameplay for such a short period of time. I like it, kinda works. Some random event suddenly gave me a lot of money, allowing me to explore a bit further as I was already way minus. The balance isn't too good, but what can you do. I'm missing sounds that add to the mood, and I can poorly read the fonts (barely can make up what the money number is. Consider putting at least a solid rectangle behind the UI so the numbers are readable. Overall nicely done!

    deathray says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:55am

    I'm also confused how to play. But I love that you made it for the Android also - you get innovation points for that. I think with a little tutorial and a more readable font, it'd be fun.

    triplefox says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:55am

    The basic gameplay works, but it really needs more UI polish to feel complete. Little things like knowing where to attack next are made very difficult on the small screen.

    Spelchan says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:12am

    Lots of potential so I hope you keep working on this.

    dekart says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:57am

    Not sure how to actually do anything here since there are no controls and double clicks don't help :(

    Nick Cash says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:28am

    As others have said, it is very hard to see on a 1080p monitor. Once I got the hang of the mouse controls I thought it was pretty neat :)

    CoffeeOnimal says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:38am

    Interesting concepts here. Interface is a bit difficult to read, the font is really bad. With some cleaning up and a way to create an army or something I could see this doing well.

    Alex Rose says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:12am

    I don't know what everyone else's problem was - I'm running at 1920x1080 and I could read it fine. I think it's cool that you decided to make it run on Android.

    The only thing I would say is that it's annoying when it snaps my view to my palace.

    It'd be nice if there was just some kind of alert, because after that I have to find my character again to direct them. It's particularly annoying when this happens twice in a row.

    But yeah, neat little game, well done.

    Will Edwards says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:26am

    Playing on the PC felt like playing on the phone :)

    Birchmountain says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:49am

    A little hard to understand, but the idea shines through and i think it has potential.

    moomoo112 says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:35am

    @alex r.: it snaps to your palace if you tap 3 times in a row or if you lose, I forgot to mention that above, sorry
    And for everyone, I'm sorry about the font, I used a "handwriting" one to match the graphics and I guess that wasn't too smart..

    Encircle says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 1:30pm

    This was fun but I could but units. I get you need gold when I want to buy 100 pack of first unit, even if I have > 5000 gold.

    Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:36pm

    I like the art. It took a while to figure out how to play even after reading the instructions. All the units I created kept getting slaughtered by a wandering princess? The red text was usually very hard to read against the background.

    Dec 29, 2012 @ 12:35am

    Very very small on a desktop computer. Played for a little while and took over the starting village. Didn't seem like there was much to do.

    ddionisio says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 9:03pm

    Was kinda hard to read stuff. Not sure if you can build an army? I just ended up slaughtering stuff with my death unit guy.

    Cryovat says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 9:34pm

    It took me a while to get into the gameplay and it feels a bit rough as it is, but I think the gameplay has promise to become a good mobile strategy game.

    If the gameplay can be tightened a bit and if you add a world map, I think you're on to something good here. :)

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]