December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Car Chase

by waveon foxdale - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You and two friends are bank robbers who just successfully robbed a bank. However, cops are chasing you down, and you have no option than to steal a car and shake them off.

Avoid the traffic and shake the cops off by letting them crash in other cars or by shooting them with your gun. You have just a few bullets left though, so pick your targets wisely...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#520Audio1.81
#525Theme2.83
#582Fun2.35
#636Graphics2.18
#650Innovation2.24
#657Humor1.67
#702Mood1.93
#708Overall2.24
#948Coolness32%

Comments

CaptainIcy says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:59am

My game had this same concept! Haha. Pretty nice game, though. Would be nice to have cooler looking graphics and a bit more to do, also in my opinion it seems a bit too... slow?

But it's awesome that you got a good enough game to play out in 48 hours anyway. Good job!

Ariake81 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:42am

super fun! like a 4 way shooting spy hunter. great job!

BrothersT says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:58am

Nice simple game. think it could get harder a bit faster though :)

fishbrain says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:20pm

Well put together little game - reminds me of spy hunter. good work!

Spelchan says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 5:35am

For a get-away you seem to move awfully slow.

Van Merwan says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 8:04pm

Nice! Maybe the Policemen should drink less alcohol, but for 48h it's good.

Per says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 11:34pm

Nice game!
Didn't read the instructions so I felt very smart when I figured out the "crash cars into other cars" stuff all by myself ;)
You could add some instructions on how to fire the guns though.

h.attila says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 11:37pm

You move way too slowly, so it doesn't feel like a car chase.

Dec 28, 2012 @ 3:37pm

Thanks for the feedback everyone!

@Per: the full controls (including shooting) are included in the instructions, right under the "controls" button. ;)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]