Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Crazy Dr. Banana's Pursuit of The Goat of Good

by NeiloGD - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Dr Banana is bent of destroying the universe,
and has been hunting The Goat of Good for decades.
You must whistle or play ocarina to control the ship,
and weapons are fired by shouting "PCHEW!".

The theme didn't really align well with my original partial
idea, and I was pretty uninspired. So, I just went a little bit
silly with the theme. Hope it's interesting to some either way!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Innovation4.45
#35Humor3.75
#133Fun3.35
#196Mood3.12
#233Graphics3.30
#304Overall3.10
#358Audio2.44
#473Theme2.95
#884Coolness37%

Comments

enfyrneaux says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:05am

Clever concept, nice graphics...but no matter what kind of whistling I try my banana always jinks left. It's definitely different!

MAT4DOR says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:04am

Epic, but as enfyrneaux said it always go left when i whistle :S

BenW says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:20am

Awesome, movement worked fine for me. Also yelling "Yo" also seems to shoot the lasers.

Darkfrost says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:59am

Ahaha, this was awesome fun, although I am terrible at whistling, so this was incredibly hard for me

Anyway, by the time I won, I was significantly better at whistling, so thanks I guess :D

If my housemates complain to me tomorrow about me shouting PCHEW at 6am, I blame you!

(Also, to anyone having any problems getting it to work when you have a working mic, try disabling any other sound recording devices in your audio settings then relauching it)

Neonlare says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 4:27am

Definitely very, very different, but going left constantly was a bit weird :/.

Xeke_Death says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 9:34am

Quite an interesting control scheme...

SonnyBone says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 11:39pm

As a person that can't whistle, I am grateful for the gameplay video as an example. Great innovation here, but the theme is definitely absent. Totally rad idea, though. And hilarious! And it looks pretty good, too!

Cambrian_Man says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 5:14am

Oh man, I found is sort of impossible to actually play, but I'd love to see this made into a full game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]