About | Rules and Guide
ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 7 days, 6 hours, 7 minutes, 30 seconds
  • October Ends: in 8 days, 6 hours, 19 minutes, 30 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 43 days, 7 hours, 7 minutes, 30 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Revenge Bear - dek - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    REVENGE BEAR has had enough. Men with beards have been trying to prove their masculinity by attacking him with their fists for the longest time. Show them who is the boss by taking over their camp.

    I made this game because I feel that bears take a lot of beatings in indie-gaming, so I decided to unleash the feral madness.

    Controls:

    < > - Move
    Space - Attack
    Ctrl - Unleash the special feral AOE attack

    Edit: Thanks to @zenmumbler who was faster at porting the game to MacOs than myself! Amazing!

    @dekdev (Twitter)
    pathtothesky.com

    View dek's journal. | View all entries by dek

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #9Graphics4.43
    #36Fun3.72
    #65Overall3.65
    #73Mood3.47
    #98Audio3.31
    #178Humor3.10
    #360Theme3.23
    #405Innovation2.76

    Comments

    naughtyloose says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:54am

    I liked it! :)

    Zazibar says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:54am

    Loved the art style! Overall reminds me of classic beat-em ups, really liked it.

    madameberry says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:00am

    That was pretty great. It's also beautiful!

    savethejets1 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:08am

    The pixel art was great. Cool tunes too!

    dek says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:11am

    Thank you guys:) glad someone enjoyed it and it is working on other peoples pcs. I had some trouble with someone who tested it. If anyone has problems running it, I would really appreciate an error message report so I can try to fix it.

    angelk says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:00am

    This was fun! Very nice art. I was expecting some audio cues when I got hit.

    feili says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:21pm

    Cool game, awesome pixel arts! :D

    juaxix says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:01pm

    I like music, sprites,fire.
    Now you can add more fx, more attacks, level ups, and so on

    wupto says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:16pm

    Amazing game, it's fun and i really like the art. Well done!

    joyboxed says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:42pm

    enjoyed playing it and couldnt find a bug so far =) The art style and the fact that it feels like a finished thing are the best things about it

    Edocentrique says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:10pm

    Well done !

    Gornova says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:30pm

    Bear was right! lol !
    Good graphics, good music, a bear with a little more blood could be unforgettable game

    8bitDamage says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:35pm

    I love the blend of pixel art and the background!

    saampahlavan says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:38pm

    Funky music. Wish I had a bar rage bar or multipliers to add a little more to the beat em up feel. Pretty solid though!

    horrorpen says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:38pm

    I like it, quite fun to play. Graphics and audio are awesome as well. The only thing that I didn't like was the auto enemy removal on level up. But overall I liked it :)

    dek says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:47pm

    Thanks for the feedback guys, I might work on this some more and make a post-LD version with stuff that was suggested :)

    Blodyavenger says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:25am

    I like how you've combined pixel art with painted background. It's a really nice ambient and I loved smashing those people! Nice game Dek! :D

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:11am

    The fire with the fake shadow looks good.

    Cthu says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:42pm

    Dig the style!

    Cell says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:47pm

    Awesome!

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:40pm

    Bar Nead moar deadli Clahs. Baer want keel Hoomans. Hoomans try kell Bear. Bear wunt Revunge.

    Translation: Bear needs more Deadly weapons. He just slicy-slicy. Needs Laser Claws at level 10. And increases health by 10 per level. OR, Upgrade shop. THAT would be Fantastic.
    Oh! And Fists of Rage needs to be Claws of Rage, and it should do 50% damage. Because as far as I can see, it only knockbacks.

    dek says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:56pm

    I have planned some kind of upgrading system. For more aoe attacks, more health etc. And lots of more monsters of course. The game is in a very concept-like state right now.

    ix says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:23pm

    Really pretty. Great animations. And a nice difficulty ramp.

    Klakwa says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:24pm

    Well that was great ! Congrats !

    chocobyte says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:26pm

    Nice music and very nice pixelart!

    sev_inf says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:32pm

    Very addictive game.

    MaTX says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:51pm

    Stunning graphics and really polished gameplay. Great entry, but once again I don't understand why somebody so talented did not try a more original interpretation of the theme. Anyway, great work!

    Cake&Code says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:04am

    It was really well done, and the controls felt mostly solid. It was fun to beat up the waves of enemies, but they all felt like reskins of the same basic AI.

    Also, I never felt like the Villain, if anything it's all these intruders in my home that are the villains.

    RHY3756547 says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:40am

    Really fun and fantastic art, great job!

    brantkings says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:44am

    Sweet game! Loved the animations! One of the few games I actually downloaded the source, lol.

    vrav says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:16am

    Nice! I got to level 9 and died. Sweet animations, delicious honey. Needs more growling.

    hadesfury says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:38am

    Nice visual style. Although this game might be considered offensive to bears...

    bigbadwofl says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:07am

    I'm sure this is a very stupid question. How do I start the game?

    bigbadwofl says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:12am

    Wow, I am a retard. Never mind.

    bigbadwofl says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:13am

    A nice little entry. Enjoyed the art very much.

    PIXEL^3 says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:30am

    Love it. Revenge Bear was well animated but the dog was rushed. (I can tell it only has three frames total) It's always fun to beat down waves of enemies by yourself and the Fist of Revenge move is very satisfying.

    ~AlucardX60

    ananasblau says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:55am

    Won't rate as I have a mac and can't play it. But from the story and shots, reminds me a lot of that Bear Fist Fighting game that recently ran a kickstarter campaign. You are onto something, keep working on it.

    dek says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:33am

    Thanks, everyone! I am very happy about the feedback, and I am working on more :)
    @ananasblau Fist of awesome, yes! my game is an indirect demake or something of it. My own fantasy story branch-off. I am glad someone noticed. You could take the bear out of that game and tell his story, this is how I imagined it. Cake & Code also suggested that he does not feel like the villain - The point is that you are the character that is always an enemy in most games. He has no decision over being a villain or not. Maybe he does not even want to. :)

    BlockBrains says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:34am

    Really neat, i enjoyed it! Congrats!

    Starspell says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:52am

    I try to run the game but nothing seems to be happening. I'll try again on a different computer later on.

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:31pm

    Ridiculously charming sprite art.

    I was a little on the fence about continuing a fairly repetitive gameplay experience, but then I blasted back a group of lumberjacks with several swipes and fist of revenge, and was immediately reminded of classic beat'em ups, Battletoads style.

    It was like a nostalgiasplosion.

    allinlabs says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:34pm

    Graphics and animations are amazingly good ! Wouldn't mind if there were more particles (blood !).
    Good entry !

    DustyStylus says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:35pm

    haha, I never mind a lot of spacebar-mashing if the game has style and this has it in bucketloads! nice art and nice sound as well. good fun!

    Mythalore says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:51pm

    Amazing art!

    Husky says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:44pm

    The feeling of campfire is very good!
    And the sense of exhilaration and intensity is very good!:)

    arch.jslin says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:23pm

    Really nice and I see you can code C++ using SFML and also doing amazing art work & animation using SB:S&S EP style pixel art! Nice looping music too!

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:14pm

    Good job! The graphics and animations are class.

    mmorphinee says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:16pm

    nice looking and fun, very repetitive though.

    maiev says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:44pm

    Amazing pixel art with animations. Something that really made this cool but might seem minor is the curved level. I can't express enough how amazing the art and animations are though.

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:23am

    Very nice graphics !
    Good job !

    AhNinniah says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:31am

    It was fun! :)

    stigmawall says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:10am

    Surprisely good, love the game idea... and the graphics is simply awesome. Love it.

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:55am

    very cool endless fighter. Fantastic graphics too

    Faust says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:46am

    Excellent work, the pixel art and music is especially great. The campfire is gorgeous, but it make me think I'm going to protect the fire at the first time.

    zenmumbler says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:18pm

    Bears get no breaks from humans, so this is awesome. Nice backdrop, good sounds and good scaling up of difficulty. I get completely overwhelmed by level 7. I'd describe the music as jungle funky.

    zenmumbler says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:15pm

    @dek and Mac OS X users, I compiled a version using Xcode 4.5 and packaged it into an app, get it here:
    http://logic-dream.com/ext/RevengeBearMac.zip

    Completely stand-alone, all frameworks etc included. I can only test this in 10.8, not sure if anything weird will happen in 10.7, 10.6 likely not supported, sorry.

    @dek only thing I changed in the source is to change a few of your path includes to use \ instead of / (Clang doesn't like windows paths :) and I commented out the fps printf. You can link to the download if you want in your entry. Thanks for Revenge Bear!

    zenmumbler says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:27pm

    @dek, oh and I realised the hurt sound wasn't playing and the source actually didn't include it, so I added that in there as well, binary updated.

    dek says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:38pm

    @zenmumbler get on twitter! thank you so much. Yeah, I fixed the sound bug myself but didnt upgrade the sourcefile.

    Flai says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:50pm

    This was awesome :) ! Really nice graphics and gameplay

    Jeremias says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:15pm

    8950 points. Simple but effective gameplay. Graphics and audio lovely and good... a little bit more depth in gameplay would make this game just perfect :D very good job!

    Wuhao says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:24am

    doesnt work for me on mac

    dek says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:22pm

    Fixed the mac problem.

    jujule says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:40pm

    As every body else said, the art is fantastic. The action is a bit repetitive but the special feral AOE attack is immensly satisfying. Great work !

    SiENcE says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:42pm

    Pretty beautiful background graphics! Personally i feel that the character pixel look does not fit with the visual stunning backgrounds. Also the intro font does not fit. But all in all a well polished game entry!

    OrangeeZ says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:30pm

    Gameplay is simple and fun, art style is awesome!

    nilstastic says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:08pm

    Good: Graphics, bear, fire, sound and animations. Great! I hammered the keyboard so much i accidently shut down the computer. =)
    Improve: Perhaps the ctrl key was a bad choice for special move since i somehow managed to shut down. *argh*

    dek says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:29pm

    @nilstastic .. wow, what?! hahah. Yeah, I guess I might chance it, since ctrl+arrow key does some strange shit on mac. Thanks for the report! And thanks for the feedback everyone.

    Puzzlem00n says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:38pm

    Hmm, I'm getting a server error trying to download this:

    "The server encountered an internal error or misconfiguration and was unable to complete your request.

    Please contact the server administrator, webmaster and inform them of the time the error occurred, and anything you might have done that may have caused the error.

    More information about this error may be available in the server error log."

    Puzzlem00n says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:39pm

    Okay, never mind. It's downloading now. Weird.

    Puzzlem00n says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:58pm

    YES, REVENGE BEAR. WREAK YOUR HAVOC AMONG THE MANLY.

    Obviously, this game was done very, very well. Breakdown-

    Bad:
    -I'm not quite sure, really. Maybe it could use more backgrounds?
    -Oh, yeah, it's hard to tell why stages end when they end.

    Good:
    +Very well detailed. I love how the men sometimes stop to puff out there chests in defiance.
    +Graphics are fantastic.
    +Story is both original and fun at the same time. I like how, where as anyone else would have made it a ridiculous monster or a giant cat or goat, you stuck with a bear. Gives it a really nice feel.

    krutech says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 1:28pm

    i loved the gfx

    zkenshin says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:55pm

    Really well done.

    StMatn says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 9:29pm

    Very cool game! An upgrade-system, so that you could use collected honey, would be cool to see. Besides that very fun to play.

    dek says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:11pm

    Thats what I am working on! :) Thanks!

    cwilloughby says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:44pm

    Pixel art is amazing. Concept is great. Controls are smooth. Feels like a real beat-em-up. Would love to see you take this concept further. Nice work!

    raincole says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:46am

    Very amazing art. I can't even draw these all in 48 hrs.

    Eniko says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 8:20am

    Really great visuals and works really smoothly at what it does, very fun. Though more of an indication when you can use your special attack would've been nice.

    lekochen says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:17pm

    Fantastic in all respects.

    SonnyBone says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 6:08pm

    Awesome graphics and great pacing. The scale of the characters seems odd, though... the logs on that fire must be HUUUUUUUUGE! haha

    ENDESGA says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:37pm

    nice!

    Maple says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 12:31am

    After I was playing for a level or two, I just couldn't attack. Not sure what that was about, but closing and reopening the game seemed to fix it. Also, your pixel art and background were nice, but I thought they didn't mix too well together. Your animations were pretty good though. Also, on the first level, I was surprised that there was no humans because the story was against humans, lol, but you sorted that out alright in the next levels. Nice game.

    fishbrain says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 11:19am

    Very nice sprites! - game-play got a bit repetitive.

    Xavier says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 10:11pm

    Brilliant!

    DavidErosa says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 12:36am

    Loved the graphics and the bear animation! By the way, it works perfectly under Wine :)

    ddionisio says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 11:01am

    Wow, almost all the art is well polished for just 48-hours, along with the game mechanic! That's pretty awesome! Love the animations (though when the lumberjacks attack, it looked odd). The gameplay got a bit repetitive, all the enemies pretty much do the same thing. The tune was pretty catchy, however! =P

    dek says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 1:04pm

    Thanks for reporting, David! @Everyone else, thanks for the feedback :)
    @ddionisio yeah, I did not manage to finish these lasts frames. My first LD, I miscalculated the time a bit :(

    leafo says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 7:48am

    Great game. Gets pretty intense in the later levels. I really like the pixel art, it looks fantastic.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]