Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

The Devil's Handiwork - Cosmologicon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

When God creates a perfect world and decides it needs a little more evil, who does he call? Play in your HTML5-capable browser. Controls are given on the page, but basically use your mouse + arrows to scroll.

Chrome performs better for me than Firefox. If you're having any trouble, please switch, okay?

If it still crashes or takes a long time to load a level, you can try the "no zoom" version above (you can still zoom out but not in), which will cut back significantly on the memory consumption and load time.

View Cosmologicon's journal. | View all entries by Cosmologicon

Ratings

Coolness73%
#34Innovation3.95
#40Theme4.03
#55Overall3.70
#71Audio3.38
#72Humor3.54
#100Graphics3.78
#133Fun3.35
#148Mood3.22

Comments

RylandAlmanza says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:33am

I like the story! :)

cjgammon says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:34am

Really funny/fun anti-lemming style game. Great Job!

Gornova says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:09pm

A solid entry! I'm not sure about zoom mechanics, but well done!

chrismwaite says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:10pm

Really nice mechanic, very inventive. Had fun with this one.

dvdking says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:20pm

I like it very much. It's fun to play and it plays intuitive. And till stage 6 it is even kinda relaxing.
Well done!

Hazel says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:00pm

I like the idea, and the story and writing were great. It was fun to see the effects of the sins, but I don't think they lent themselves to particularly exciting or puzzling gameplay.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:53pm

Extremely well done for a 48 hour game. Combining the use of the sins to complete each level was really fun and smart.

Per says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:29pm

Very nice theme execution!
Funny and polished game. Well done!

davidwparker says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:31pm

Cute game. I love the graphics and the idea. It's almost like reverse lemmings which is really cool. Well done.

davidwparker says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:32pm

By the way, did you use any frameworks?

Cosmologicon says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:39pm

Thanks! As far as frameworks, I used something called UFX, which I wrote. The code is under the source repo link.

Floko says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:39am

very entertaining! The use of the sins was really creative =]

michax says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:43pm

Awesome idea and nice implementation! Had a little problem with remembering what will happend after applying sins, but exploration was actualy a part of the fun :) Great job!

nilstastic says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:19am

Good: I really like your interpretation of the theme. Was great fun, fleshed out mechanics and a polished feel. Great work! =)
Improve: Less text, more goats. =)

SimianLogic says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 7:48pm

Really impressive technically--nice engine, nice platforming AIs, and nice camera controls. I thought the story was pretty dumb, though--but I hate reading things, so I won't hold that against you. The sins are clever, but sometimes the puzzles require a lot of waiting.

Patrick64 says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 8:08pm

Awesome game! My favourite so far. I'm very impressed you did this in 48 hours.

monomanio says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 2:59pm

Hah, some neat mechanics going on here. Great job!

Raptor85 says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 7:25pm

overall good, would have been more fun if you could interact with the environment more.

Worse says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 12:50pm

Excellent!

To find something negative, I think it was a bit slow paced and the controls could have been better. The puzzles were not that fun or creative.

tompudding says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Very impressively polished! It looks great, and the gradual introduction to the mechanics is quite professional, good job

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]