December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Misery is delicious!

by Follett - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Misery is delicious! is a top down villain simulator in which you slaughter, kill, crush, torture and clone the inhabitants of a small island city.

Use a vast selection of tools and ability's such as "Spring cleaning" which literally drops numerous items (including goats) upon the defenceless citizens and explosive diarrhoea which launches people into space on what I have names...poop elevators.

The game features a mission mode and a sandbox mode. It is highly recommended that you play sandbox because mission mode basicly sucks.

Have fun being evil!

EDIT: I just realised the source I am linking to is actually the source to my other games. I will fix this after work tomorrow or the day after.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#29Fun3.76
#69Humor3.56
#76Theme3.89
#91Innovation3.62
#212Overall3.28
#231Mood3.04
#272Graphics3.17
#481Audio2.04

Comments

fishbrain says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 5:49pm

hahaha... that WAS fun.

kivifreak says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 5:50pm

Soo cool, probably one of the best games i have seen so far :D

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 7:03pm

It's really fun !

Ionstorm says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 7:51pm

That was amazing.
So fun being villain - they should make more games like this...

CptBubbles says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 9:22pm

Really funny idea!

pinion says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 11:25pm

Great fun. I liked the death pole + spawn person combo for maximum carnage.

Follett says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:54am

Thanks guys. Don't forget to come back and rate the game and to hold rick click for more powerful versions of that move!

apeandskate says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:40am

I wish I could make 3D games

Freakill says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:45am

Really funny killing sandbox! :D

ilo says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:16am

A very cool toy, Follett. Well done. :)

teh_eria says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:49am

Amazing! Just when I thought I'd seen it all, I'd try a new ability and be surprised with villain-ness! Well done!

cwilloughby says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:41am

Super fun! I like the mutater the best.

namuol says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:05am

Always a pleasure to give innocent people fatally-explosive diarrhea. :]

Husky says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:03pm

Fun!
I like to spawn many people then use the death pole !!

amassingham says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:03am

That was great.

Needs some sort of visual indicator for the current power level (I know there's the textfield, but a circle or area of influence visual display would make it so much more user friendly)

Fun little game though, Not going to lie - the explosive diarrhea? hilarious.

dray says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:08pm

explosive diarrhea > this game is awesome, love to make people flying with their own intestine

Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:14am

Explosive Diarrhea is a lot more fun than it has any right to be, I think.

I felt like I wanted to be able to control the camera, though it's possible that you can and I just didn't realize how.

The creativity was nice. How many different kill methods did you come up with that you had to cut due to time constraints?

Follett says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:09am

Hey recursive frog, use WASD to control the cam and mouse wheel to zoom. Alot of my idea's were cut due to my in-ability to model fast. Also making the AI re-actions were not to my liking so instead of making more ability's I made better AI.

Jan 5, 2013 @ 7:36pm

web version doesnt work properly i think;
i like the idea, i image it took a lot of work to create something like this but im missing here main goal...just killing become boring after few minutes - still i think overall its good idea

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]