Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

PST: 6 PM
*EST: 9 PM
UTC: 02:00

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

Ludum Dare 31:
Ludum Deals
???
 
Recent:
MiniLD #XX

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Dracula's Treasure - 01010111 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my entry - Dracula's Treasure! You play as Dracula, who is being evicted from his foreclosed mansion. Priests are trying to kick you out, but you have to collect all of your riches before you leave! This is kind of similar to games like Flicky and City Connection, but the player wraps around the screen (a la Asteroids).

You use the Arrow Keys to run and the Space key to Jump - if you can collect the powerup, you will be transformed into a bat and can clip through the platforms (as well as wrap vertically around the screen).

The point of the game is to collect all of the treasures and reach the exit without getting hit by one of the priests.

PROTIP - You can game the priests behavior by jumping to get them to jump to higher platforms!

I hope you folks enjoy it!

PS - The Player, Enemies, Collectibles and everything all exist in the one PlayState class, which is pretty heavily commented for people new at Flixel. It's not pretty code, but it might help someone :)

PPS - Forgot to mention, for this project I used:

Libraries:
-Flixel 2.55
-Flixel Power Tools

IDE - FlashDevelop

Music - MilkyTracker

Sound - Plogue Chipsounds

View 01010111's journal. | View all entries by 01010111

Ratings

Coolness84%
#20Audio3.77
#25Fun3.78
#56Graphics4.02
#76Overall3.61
#105Mood3.33
#325Humor2.65
#449Theme3.02
#542Innovation2.48

Comments

wallmasterr says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:23am

this game is sooo hard and addictive!!

amassingham says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:41am

Cute little platformer! I like it.

RipX says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:37am

Nice music, nice graphics let down a bit by having only one level. Reminded me on a game called Ghost House on the Sega Master System and other games on the MSX. Fun!

joekinley says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:59pm

Nice moody game you made there. The graphics were awesome, the audio was really nice and moody. Worked wonders on the overall mood. But the game was sooooo hard to play. Also I hate it when you can only jump on space (that key is so loud and all) and not on arrow up.
For the love of me I was not able to finish it though as it was so hard. I kept dying of these monks/preists.

Great game, awesome work. Congratulations on finishing and polishing this thing.

Zanzlanz says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:04pm

It doesn't have much, but it is very complete and fun to play. The difficulty is PERFECT - I didn't get frustrated but it did take me some time to finish (one time, I was just a few seconds away from the exit!). Great music, nice graphics, and fun :D

Mava says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:28pm

Running at top speed is soooo much fun I could just do that all day! :)

cwilloughby says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:24am

This is very fun. It looks great. Hard.

Nice work.

BlockBrains says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:41am

Really cute! Love the ambient and the little guy reminds me of astroboy somehow! I suck so much in this kind of plataformer tho :(

RHY3756547 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:47am

Nice! Love the graphics and enemy AI!

01010111 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:24am

Hey thanks everyone! I also suck at games like this BlockBrains :) The player controls are still a little wonky, it's hard to gauge how well they work when you've been playtesting every build since you get them working :)

Cambrian_Man says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:34am

Looks and sounds great, plays smooth. Wish there was more to it. Even being able to choose when I could turn into a bat after collecting the gem would add a lot, I think.

iamorim says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:36am

It's pretty hard O.O
But it makes you want to play again and again...
Great graphics ^^

awppy says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:36am

Very cute aesthetic, nice music. The input lag is painful for me, though

Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:39am

great job! Reminds me of the original mario brothers.

KWL_TW says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:39am

Cute and fun!
I want more stage!

iiAtlas says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:40am

Really liked the art style, and the gameplay was pretty famn addicting as well. Nice job :)

Nolan C says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:53am

Oh man this game was awesome! So addictive, must have taken like 50 tries to beat it. It's great! Only complaint is the bat was a little unpredictable as to where it would spawn you after you transform back to Dracula.

ripter says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:57am

Awesome game! Reminds me so much of the Mario Bros. arcade.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:20am

Music is awesome, very reminiscent of the classic Pokemon RPGS! Pixel art not bad either. :)

loren says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:00am

Winner! Great music, animation and lightning effect :)

Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:17am

Favorite thing was the lightening flashes on the stained glass. Nice touch. Great music, art, and overall execution. Better to do less and polish it up like this, vs the alternative. Safe and well executed. Clunkiest part seemed to be the enemy AI jumping around to get to a new platform.

illugion says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:32am

The art is sooo cool! And i loved the sounds and the music, its so smooth! The game was kinda hard but it was really cool to play XD

Meep says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:47am

I absolutely love the look and feel of this game! The art and music are awesome, and the control/physics feels great too. :) It definitely was a little difficult, but that's not necessarily a bad thing, and can be tweaked in the future.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:48am

I really enjoyed this game, but wish it had more. The amount it did have was very polished, though.

MvT says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:30am

Cutes graphics, good music !

Manuel777 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:55am

I like it very much, the gameplay reminds me a bit to donkey kong, but thats mayb because of the platforms disposition :P

Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:54am

Balls-hard retro gameplay. Not sure if Dracula is a bigger villain than a priest, but that's just an opinion :)

Logun says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:22am

Addictive is the word !

Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:15am

Just one level, but it was one amazingly difficult level. Had fun watching my skill improve bit by bit until I finally beat it. Great music too.

boena says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:46am

Awesome entry. Love the graphics! Really hard though :D

Xeke_Death says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:24am

I got all the treasure, then died while looking at what the thing that popped up down the bottom was...! Very well put together...

@01010111: If you see this, I found out I am able to fix the game breaking bug in my game, and did so.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:07am

Such a cute dracula, he can't be a villain :(
Very funny game with epic music, I lived it !

Starspell says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:21am

That's a really cute game. I love the idea of it - even though I think it's pretty much impossible to beat (which is fine). The graphics are great and the audio is awesome.

The only thing that bugged me was that jumping and falling was a little too floaty for me - but that's just a nit-pick.

Fantastic stuff!

Faust says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:01pm

Hard but addictive, great work.

PapyGaragos says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:01pm

Awesome game
It feels very polished, though I feel you could have explored the theme a little more .

Slushy says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:55pm

so adorable

REIN1 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:35pm

Great art~

jerombd says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:25am

Short but perfectly welldone!
One big flaw: there's only ONE level!

Husky says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:11am

I like the art and music!

uncade says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:40am

Great job man! The art is fantastic, gameplay is smooth, very polished. Only thing it needs is some sweet dating mechanics :P

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:54am

Could do with some more precise controls but overall a very polished and fun game. I'm impressed.

Pitoum says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:47pm

Spacebar is sooooo frustrating :)
But great game, very polished and cute and nostalgic :D Everything is quiet impressive.

Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:45am

Argh! Why is Dracula so slippery?!

The game really is cute and addictive. I actually got all the treasure and then died on my way out. I'm not sure I have it in me to get that far again.

Those priests sure do look sinister, I must say.

Maple says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:38pm

This was very addictive. I couldn't stop trying until I beat it. Nice job!

tcql says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:32am

Very nicely done! I feel like it has the perfect level of difficulty for a small game - it makes me want to keep playing!

I absolutely love the sprite and animation work :)

Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:53am

Very hard but that's not a drawback :)
Nice music and graphics indeed.

cdata says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:06am

This is the best game. All of a sudden I am ten years old and I am playing a Megaman / Mario All-stars / Pacman hybrid on a Saturday morning. I am in love with the art, the sound and the game play. Super hard, and yet I have to beat it. Btw, that lightening effect is the best.

amidos2006 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:23am

Nice game :)

3dwoody says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:52am

Fantastic little game. All of the aspects work so well together with the theme. The high level of polish shows you balanced the various aspects of development well within the timeframe. Well done! :)

Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:10am

This is awesome! So so cute. Good job!!

dremelofdeath says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:10pm

This is fantastic! What a great 48h entry. Super fun. The audio and the graphics are so cute! I'd love to see more of this game.

fishbrain says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:15pm

Classic-style platformer - very nice!

jujule says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:21pm

Realy cute, realy adictive, realy well done. But maybe a little bit to generic for this kind of compo IMHO.

garygreen says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:41pm

Really cute game. Nice work. :-)

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 1:04pm

What a lot of fun!

pereubu says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:55pm

goddamnit, here's an addictive gameplay, ridiculously hard and simple, i luv it ! Great job on tweaking :3

Puzzlem00n says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 12:22am

Wow. Nice stuff. Thoughts-

Bad:
-It's slightly short.
-The bat feels a bit unnatural to control, but it could be just me. He might need a bigger hitbox.

Good:
+Insanely polished. Graphics are nice, and that's a cute little vampire you have there.
+The gameplay is nice and simple.

Fortyseven says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 1:57am

Very nice! Controls are a bit slippery, but overall I really like it. :)

AyCe says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 6:18pm

Nice game, but I was quite happy it was over after one level ^^. Yes, it is hard, but for 1 level okay :)

Colapsydo says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 10:36am

Simple and efficient.
The tune is so nice that it's not a bad thing to loose since we can continue to listen to it.

PaulSB says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 9:24pm

Oh wow - as soon as the music started playing I was a kid again, you absolutely nailed the retro nostalgia with the audio. The game itself was simple but pretty difficult with the character feeling heavy. Still enjoyable. Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]