December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Dragon Boss

by Zanzlanz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hey there! I'm Zanzlanz and this is my second Ludum Dare entry, "Dragon Boss." :D

__________________________________ TL;DR _________________________________
Read this if you don't feel like reading the rest:
Move with arrow keys, use shift to breath fire, and space to pick up animals. Avoid arrows. Collect items until you win. I had fun and loved talking to my live stream viewers. There are goats, and they are yummy.

__________________________________ INFO __________________________________
Wow you went passed the TL;DR. Thank you :)

So the whole game is based off of you being a dragon. You main goal is to become a boss. In order to become a boss, you can terrorize the giant village filled with archers, cows, and GOATS.

I created all music, graphics, (most of) the code (I submitted an ugly engine before it started), and sound effects in the allotted time of 48 hours. The art is actually made up of 13 colors, total, so I think that's a cool feature! My live stream adds up to over 17 hours of video.

________________________________ CONTROLS _______________________________
- WAD or arrow keys to move. Keep tapping up (or W) to fly.
- Shift: Hold down shift to breath fire. Fire can burn down houses or catch people/livestock on fire.
- Space: When there is a person or livestock under you, press space to pick it up. Press space again to drop it. If they take fall damage, they die and give you goodies.

______________________________ WIN CONDITION _____________________________
Simply, if you're completely leveled up, you win.
You can be leveled up in speed, flight, and flame. The highest level for each category is 10!

________________________________ ENTITIES _______________________________
All entities can be picked up and thrown on the ground. They all drop meat, hearts, and 2 experience orbs.
- Archers: They're the villagers. They all have bows and arrows because they are paranoid. They'll squat before they shoot an arrow at you. So watch out :D
- Cows and goats: They're just there because they're yummy.

____________________________ DRAGON PROPERTIES ___________________________
On the display is health, hunger, experience, and your power (speed, flight, and flame).
- Health: If it goes to 0, you die.
- Hunger: Decreases over time. Determines how fast your stamina replenishes.
- Stamina: It's how much energy you have to do things, such as fly and breath fire. It will automatically increase over time. It will decrease if you use up your strength.
- Exp: Every 200 exp, you gain power in one of the 3 categories (speed, flight, and flame).

_______________________________ TIME LAPSE _______________________________
I livestreamed this whole thing (including me write this D:), and I was able to make it into a timelapse! See the links at the top for the video.
I must give a huge shout out to the people who watched my live stream. There were awesome to chat with, and it was nice meeting new friends.

___________________________ POST-COMPO GAME ______________________________
I am working on finishing the game that will fix bugs, improve graphics, and add REALLY COOL features.
I'll post it on Ludum Dare when I'm done, of course. One of the new features is the dragon will grow over time. It works great and is cool too x)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#86Theme3.86
#148Fun3.31
#233Overall3.24
#236Mood3.03
#260Innovation3.09
#288Audio2.64
#295Humor2.73
#365Graphics2.95

Comments

ix says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:17am

Felt a bit slow (completion-time-wise) -- I feel like I'd already done everything in the first thirty seconds, but I had to grind to get to level 10.

Fire doesn't seem powerful until ~5-6, and it's a bit weird because the sprite sizes seem to change. Stamina just slows down the game awkwardly. Controls are very twitchy. It didn't feel like being a dragon.

The art style is consistent, which I like, and the sound is not distracting and provides a reasonable counterpoint to the gameplay.

Yogr says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:24pm

Was pretty fun. Being a dragon is always a blast. The stamina meter made it more challenging I guess but I think people would love to have unlimited stamina and just go around wrecking havoc and getting stronger!

aeveis says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:34pm

Had fun destroying everything! I had to hit the top of the builds in order to destroy them with fire? that was a bit confusing but overall pretty fun.

Gravity Games says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:35pm

I must say, this game was a blast to play. It was quick paced and action packed; I didn't get bored playing once, even after I won. The graphics are nice, as is the music, and they both fit the arcade-y vibe that the game gave off. If you want to make a larger game with this, you certainly have a good base, and I hope to see more if you do. The only thing that got annoying is the stamina, it runs out too quickly in my opinion.

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:21pm

It's a cool second entry, it's great that you had the time to add a lot of effects and mobs !

Zanzlanz says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:12am

Hey commenters! Thanks for playing and rating! I'm SO happy that I didn't get any complaints about lag yet; my last Ludum Dare was a wreck in that perspective.

Ix: I agree that it is kind of slow. I felt that no one would replay the game anyway (since I haven't added anything to come back for, such as achievements), so I just made it a bit longer. I'll have to fix that soon :)

Yogr: Thanks for getting the point! The game's more about the fact that you're the boss, and you can do whatever you want!

Aeveis: I was thinking about that while I was play-testing, but didn't act upon it. That'll be something to change. Thanks!

Gravity Games: I'm glad you enjoyed it! The stamina can be a bit annoying, I agree. It's something I can tweak to make it more fair :)

Edocentrique: My slogan for making games is that you can never have too many particles. ;D

Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:58pm

It was a bit hard to control the dragon for some reason. I think it's because I wanted there to be a separate jump button besides "up". The picking up and dropping mechanic was hard to wrap my head around for some reason as well, and I found myself just wanting to blow fire all over the place... 'cause fire is cool! And this dragon's fire is awesome!

I think if you dropped the stamina, or at least made it drain less quickly, or recover more quickly the game might feel a bit tighter.

sev_inf says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:25pm

Good game, but Shift key for shooting is not good idea. Windows keeps asking whether or not a have sticky keys.

Zanzlanz says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:46pm

I should have made it X, and pick up Z or something. Don't tap on shift to use fire, as a quick-fix. Thanks ;D

illugion says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:43pm

This was really fun ! I like it ! I was biting lots of people just to spit them again XD

Shugor says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:01pm

This was a really fun game! It's not really too hard once you realize you can get easy health from buildings, though, so some variety to the villagers might be nice (maybe stronger weapons, or different angles). I think I heard some background music, but it was kind of quiet. Once I beat the game, it was fun to run around with infinite health XP
All in all, nice job~

dansludumdare says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:04pm

I felt like a multitasking villain badass when I figured out how to use the spacebar properly.

Would've been cool to implement a divebomb with the down arrow, and some physics adjustments.

I couldn't really figure out how to use flame properly. Just spray it in new areas and some things burn, then default to picking up and dropping.

At some point I glitched into a house I think, and then flew upward pretty quickly. I think it was a special glitchy house (it looked normal though -- it was 2 tiles tall and I could "land" on the bottom tile of it).

Well done.

Zanzlanz says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:31pm

illugion: Thanks! I was thinking about adding some sort of way to just eat people, but I don't know exactly how it can be properly implemented... I have to think about it.

Shugor: Thanks for your review! Buildings do give you a lot of goodies, and I was considering decreasing that. Either that, or increase the amount that other animals produce. The background music is quiet mainly because my last feature was making the game mutable. I'll raise the volume in the post-compo version.

dansludumdare: Thanks for commenting! Yes, I thought of many ways to make it feel more organic, but graphics took me too long already, and I decided to leave it out. I'm actually glad because it keeps it more polished, rather than having extra glitchy features. The glitch you found is actually just a non-generated tile made by the world generator (it's actually NEXT to the house, in an empty tile). I noticed it happen a few times while testing, yet I have NO idea why it occurs. I already fixed it post-compo. Thanks for letting me know anyway ;D

DavidErosa says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:51pm

Nice game. At first I wasn't sure how to play and spent the whole time "walking" :D I died pretty quickly...

Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:10pm

This kept me occupied until I finished it. It is pretty funny, but it turns into a bit of a grind towards the end (pick up, fly up, drop, breathe some fire, pick up, fly, ...).

The physics could be improved. Try adding inertia to the dragon's x and y positions. That would feel more like you're a heavy dragon. BTW, have you played the old 8-bit game Thanatos, that was similar to this? Although in that game, the dragon was almost as big as the screen and the humans were tiny. Pretty fun to be a villain.

I'm not that fond of the music. I kept it on while writing this review, and it got pretty annoying.

But all in all, it's a pretty good game, as I kept on playing for a while. The connection to the theme is obvious.

someone says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:17pm

Encountered an invisible wall at one point.
The stamina meter was a bit annoying at the start.

Zanzlanz says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:47pm

DavidErosa: Thanks! I'm planning on adding in-game help with the controls (they'll show up on the screen somewhere).

Martin Vilcans: The pass was mentioned before - it's going to be improved post-compo. Having at least some inertia could be more realistic, I like that idea. :) Press M to mute the game. Thanks for the comment and ideas!

Someone: (I like your username) The broken block has been mentioned in my previous long-reply. Stamina will be tweaked as well. I'd rather not annoy the players like this x)

Zanzlanz says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:49pm

Woah typo!
*Martin Vilcans: The progression will be improved post-compo.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:04am

Wow this villager all have fireproof suit :) I love your game it was really fun to play. I'm a boss dragon now !!
I wish that falling object had an impact damage zone, it would have raise the rampaging level of your game ( which is already pretty high )

Luis Anton says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:56pm

First time I see a cat breathing fire :D Haha! It was fun. But the dragon's movement reminded me of Alley Cat, an old CGA game :' ) Well done!

Eamon says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:14pm

Nice game, fire and destroying stuff seemed a little glitchy for me. Nice attempt though :)

jujule says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:07pm

Simple fun. I enjoyed it.

Zanzlanz says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:56pm

Benjamin: Yeah they don't catch on fire very easily, even when you're flame is all leveled up. Also, what do you mean by impact damage zone?

Luis Anton: Hm, it does look a little similar; I just looked Alley Cat up, haha. xD The funny thing is my live stream joked around that it was a cat with wings -_-

Eamon: Graphics wise, it is glitchy. Speaking in code, it works like a charm. I could be wrong however - there is probably a variable of ways to break the game :)

Jujule: Yay :3

Clodial says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 1:30am

Lmao, I liked burning things to the ground XD

Maple says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 2:46pm

>A boss with infinite health, lol.

I wanted to give you a chance and see what having lv10 everything was like, because on lv1 everything felt like crap. I still think, on lv10, people die too slow. I thought a few times "Maybe you can't damage humans?" early on, and then after I realised they were smoking I was like "Wait, what? I've been breathing fire into this one guy's face for 5 seconds and he still hasn't died yet". I think that was the main problem: things getting damaged slowly. Oh, and stamina not recharging fast enough. Other than this, it was an enjoyable experience -- I mean, I played until Boss, and saw the black wall on the other side, so it can't have been too bad.

Want to point out a glitch I saw. Not sure what caused it, but somewhere along the line I came across an invisible block. When standing next to it and jumping, you jumped really high.

Also, I liked the music. Overall, nice entry.

Zanzlanz says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 3:47pm

Thanks Maple ;)
The people don't actually have health, unfortunately. They just instantly die after they've been on fire for a random amount of time. This will be improved upon in the full version. I know about the random invisible block and I fixed it too. Too bad I didn't have time to figure it out during the compo!
The pace of the game is slow. I actually cut it in half for the post-compo version (and it feels a lot better).
Thanks for your feedback!

fishbrain says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 11:13am

Was fun hissing fire all over everyone.

jackspinoza says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 1:44pm

this is the first game I've played in a long time that made me feel nostalgic for NES games and not because of the graphics. Lots of games borrow from that era in a post-modern or ironic kind of way but with this game it hit me after a few minutes that it was the gameplay doing it; simple, confident and boss.

Zanzlanz says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 6:43pm

Jackspinoza: That's really cool! I'm not old enough to have much nostalgia of the NES, but now that you bring it up, I understand what you mean. Thanks for bringing that up! I think this serves as a lesson - something along the lines of 'design games primarily for fun, not for purpose.'

Jan 2, 2013 @ 4:51pm

Fire felt reaaally weak, was unfortunate. Graphics were neat enough.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]