December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Slaughter

by wccrawford - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My humble entry, Slaughter. It can be played with:

Keyboard and mouse: A and D for left and right, W to jump. Mouse click to shoot in that direction from player.

Joystick: Left analog moves left and right, push up to jump. Right analog auto-shoots in the direction you push the stick. Unfortunately, the web version only works for joysticks with the same axes as the XBox 360 joypad. The Windows version has rebindable keys.

This game is short and simple. If I had more time, I could add more levels, weapons, enemies, pickups, etc. Not to mention art.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#526Audio1.76
#663Humor1.63
#688Fun2.03
#728Mood1.67
#734Overall2.11
#756Graphics1.46
#757Innovation1.60
#759Theme1.58

Comments

jujule says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:23am

At least you have something playable but it is still really rough around the edges and not very rewarding for the player

rasmusrn says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:35am

It runs really fast on my machine? Is it supposed to do that?

Maybe the player should have more health than the enemies? I feel I die way too fast. Just a thought :)

patricklorio says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:36am

It's fun but very hard. The game felt quite trippy with the camera movements, I quite enjoyed it.

Prelucid says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:51am

It is difficult hahaha.

wccrawford says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:15pm

@rasmusrn Yeah, it's a pretty quick game. I think I could have done a lot of things to make it easier, like slow down the player and bullets, take gravity down a notch, etc.

But then it's just a crappy sidescroller with nothing going for it, IMO. At least with the difficulty this high, there's something to work for.

I admit that it's not very rewarding if you don't like the challenge.

Thanks for the comments everyone!

raincole says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:37pm

It's not really hard if you catch the tempo. However I can't say that it's based on theme.

wccrawford says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:21pm

@raincole It is... But it's not really obvious why until you beat it. Which is too hard, even though there's only 2 levels. Originally I had planned to do more on the theme, but I found my knowledge lacking and didn't have time to learn the bits I needed.

pl0xz0rz says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:48pm

Way too trippy, with both physics abuse and 3d abuse.

joecarrot says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:57pm

Really tough right out of the gate. I would have appreciated a smoother difficulty curve.

Felix20 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:10pm

Difficulty was actually nice, I didn't feel evil at all since I was just making blue pillars disappear, and besides they were shooting me.
Joystick control was nice but up fired left and down fired right, left and right on the right stick didn't do anything.

Audio worked, graphics were nice placeholders, the 3d was nice but practically any amount of detail would have greatly improved it.

wccrawford says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:48am

@Felix20 I'm guessing your joystick has different axes than mine and that's why it didn't work. I've added the Windows version now, which allows you to rebind the keys. (Unity feature, I didn't add it.)

Mythalore says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:57pm

Smooth camera controls! Rather hard, though.

dek says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:37pm

Found this to be very very hard. Could not get past the second level where an enemy is blocking the way.

daredevildave says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:43am

Pretty brutal difficulty-wise!

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:00pm

Hehe, think I need to down a pint of coffee to have the reflexes for this! What happens at the end? (if you don't mind me asking?) :)

wccrawford says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:41pm

I guess I could spoil the end. It's pretty lame, to be honest. It just says something like, "Why did you kill all those people? You monster!"

I had originally planned to have a plot, but realized that I didn't have enough time to learn how to create a dialogue system in time. I plan to have learned that and a few other things before the next LD. I have to say, LDs have been great for showing me what skills I need to work on.

Tobias Wehrum says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 7:57pm

Do you use Time.deltaTime on everything related to time? It runs way to fast on my machine. It's not very playable like that, so I will refrain from voting.

wccrawford says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 5:22pm

@Tobias I do, actually. The game does run fast. I thought the mechanics felt smooth like that, so I didn't slow them down. I could have made it slower and it'd be more like a bullet-hell sidescroller. It was tempting.

If I made another in the future, I've learned a lot from this one about how to make it easier without cheezing out and just changing hitpoints and crap.

Per says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 11:39pm

Good start of a game you have there!
Hard to play on a laptop though and it runs a little fast as well.
I like these types of games so I would like to see a post-compo version :)

Codexus says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 11:24pm

It's the beginning of a nice game. Adding some smoothing to the animation would make the game feel much better.

It seemed crazy hard at first but then once I found out how to shoot the bad (good?) guys without getting in any danger, it was easy to reach the end.

Also just turning the cubes into little cube men, maybe even by something as simple as giving them a little cube hat and a smiley face would have given it much more feeling.

azurenimbus says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 2:55am

The game is actually not bad, and I'd love to play it in a more developed stage.

The main thing here is that the game is unfair, it needs to be more balanced and/or have more of a difficulty curve. Still, looks promising.

wccrawford says ...
Jan 8, 2013 @ 1:54pm

Thanks for the comments everyone! I don't plan to make a post-compo version because I have a lot of other ideas I'm working on, and this really isn't my genre. But as I said before, I learned a lot from this entry.

Next time, I expect my game to be better.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]