December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Sunburn

by Rabbits... - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my third entry to Ludum Dare and I believe it is the best yet. You are a blob looking thing that is forced into being a villain because of how it looks. You move and jump with randomly changing keys that reset every ten seconds. Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#37Innovation3.93
#56Humor3.64
#251Audio2.76
#350Mood2.79
#474Overall2.79
#503Theme2.90
#504Fun2.55
#538Graphics2.48

Comments

Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:48am

Physics are a touch glitchy, but the idea is great (and cruel!)

rumachine says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:18pm

Great idea!

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:18pm

This is a good concept, keep making games :3

Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:10am

Never make games with confusing controls. Ever. True villainy. On to the next idea :)

surpy says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:12am

I love this idea sooooo much, it is so cruel! This is a very nice game!

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:16am

All I could think of here was "Mavis Beacon Teaches Torture". Interesting albeit frustrating mechanic especially with the glitchy physics and over distorted music. You really are a villain.

moomoo112 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:48pm

would have been a lot better if the collisions didn't bug out every other jump..

Ariake81 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:35am

great idea, cheeky game mechanic, nice!

goulding57 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:38am

Wow. Interesting take. True villainy! I would have preferred the collisions to work better, kept getting stuck in the ground or on walls. But a cool idea.

bugninja says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:57am

YESSS!!!! This had me laughing. Near impossible to play, but it was fun for exactly that reason. Great concept, excellent!

MrEvilGuy says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:59am

HAhahaha "red's not evil it's just a sunburn" that's hilarious. Cool idea, makes my finger coordination angry.

raincole says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:12am

good idea, but hard to play.

Xeke_Death says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:30am

I managed to get stuck in a floor after getting my left and right assigned to 'I'... Interesting idea...

Dmitrix says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:39am

oooh, you are so evil! Great game! I like the title as well.

rvmook says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:33pm

Fun idea but turned out I didn't really like the way it played. Somehow I kept playing it though, so nice job

Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:53pm

Brutal. I loved the intro.

johndb says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:43am

Fun idea and great intro. That control scheme... Rabbits, you really are the villain!

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:49pm

Changing keys? *you are the villain!*

Dec 25, 2012 @ 4:12pm

Oh. That is EVIL. :P

GameRespect says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 8:31am

Interesting concept, adapting to new keys so quickly was challenging sometimes but fun regardless. I also enjoyed the dialogue between the other 3 non-sunburnt creatures. Nice job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]