December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Invasion!

by xgeovanni - 48 Hour Compo Entry

EDIT: The "Non-ascii characters" bug should be fixed now.

Long has humanity longed for a game that would quench their bloodlust. Their thirst for pure mayhem.

Instead, they got this.

You play as the captain of the invading alien mothership, attacking the pitiful hu-mans and robbing them of thier valuable scrap metal.

Instructions:

WASD to move
Click to fire the lazor
IOP to upgrade ship with scrap
H to repair ship with scrap while not firing the laser.

Scrap is accumulated by killing enemies.
Each upgrade costs 100 scrap multiplied by your current level.

There is a hidden goat in the game, see if you can find it(Protip: check the source).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#423Fun2.73
#437Audio2.19
#456Humor2.25
#510Theme2.89
#619Overall2.51
#624Mood2.26
#650Innovation2.24
#741Graphics1.66

Comments

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:33am

I think this game has potential, but isn't just there yet.

- It's not quite clear how much the upgrades cost, you could've added it to the HUD.
- In my opinion, the enemies move too fast.
- The graphics, well, they need work :) Consider downloading GIMP and practice on pixel art ;)

Keep up the good work; I think with a bit more info and a bit better graphics this could be really fun.

Robotic says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:35am

It's pretty dynamic, I feel like the game could have used some better graphics though :)

svenardo says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:37am

Very well made game. Fun to play! Could flesh it out with some better graphics and animation, but overall a good attempt. Impressed with your coding abilities at such a young age!

svenardo says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:38am

Haha, found the goat ;P

Faust says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:14am

Well done, but where is the goat? lol

Xeke_Death says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:36am

Game randomly closed, not sure why... I may have run out of HP. Also thought that upgrades were not working, but I just didn't have enough scrap.

xgeovanni says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:48am

On death you should be taken to either a "New High Score" screen or a "You Lose" screen. Anything else you can tell me about the circumstances so I can try to replicate it. (What was happening in the game, your OS, etc.)

Clavus says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:21pm

Simple, but not really much to it at the moment.

caranha says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:31pm

Interesting idea. I liked that you added many "quality of life" options in your game, like the separate intro, high score and ending screens, and the mute button. You also posted a lot in the blog, which is always nice.

Playing the game felt a bit like I was passing a big eraser on the enemies :-) The bullets felt a bit too fast, and there was not much point in trying to dodge them -- did you insert any sort of loop control in your game, to make sure it ran at the same speed in most machines? The game looked a bit accelerated in mine.

In one of your blog screenshots, the alien ship was among stars, above the sky. I think you should have kept that :-)

Thanks for the game, and I hope to see you next LD, you have a lot of potential!

xgeovanni says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:40pm

Caranha: I have Clock.tick(30) in the game loop. That should control the game speed. I removed the stars because I thought it looked weird and unnatural without a proper transition between it and the sky.

Thanks for the nice review!

SmallDeadGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:47pm

Quite fun. Graphics need improving. Has a fair bit of potential. Seems quite generic. Crashed for me after a while too

someone says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:10pm

Couldn't get this to run.
python didn't like the non-ASCII characters, which I changed but it still didn't work.
Something about a TypeError on line 442.
Compiled Windows version didn't work in Wine either.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:44pm

Man, turned out to be much more fun that I thought it will be. As Gemberkoekje said, it would be nice if you wrote an upgrade cost somewhere separately.

Good job.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:55pm

Can't get it to run because of the non-ASCII characters...

xgeovanni says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:03pm

I will attempt to fix the no-ascii character issue. It will be down for a while until I fix it.

gameXcore says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:25pm

I agree with the above posters, I won't bash on the graphics, because that's an obvious one, but instead of spending time adding in allt he extras like high scores, you should have concentrated more on the major mechanics.

Good job getting it done though.

loren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:29pm

*click* *click* *click* *click* *click* I like the sound effects and music!

Beerman says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:54pm

Not bad :)
Decent concept, but the ship feels way too big relative to the play area to be able to effectively dodge anything.
The upgrade keys could do with being a bit nearer to the main controls as well - 1,2,3 might have been a better choice.

Spelchan says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:32am

Lots of potential but I found the speed of the enemies to be way too fast.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:02pm

Getting an error that the app is not a valid Win32 application. May be because I'm on XP?

DaGamesta says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:25am

Interesting concept, and what there was that was programmed didn't seem to have any collision flaws or anything like that. On the other hand, I feel the graphics could've been better than that, even in a 48 hour compo. Also, it might've been better to do rounds instead of reaching to press i, o, and p to upgrade. Good work, regardless, though.

Jack says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 11:53am

randomly crashed but was great fun up until that moment. Played for by far the longest of any LD game so far

madpew says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 6:12pm

Not bad. Graphics could need some polish and upgrades are too expensive. only could do one.

cardboard says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 5:17am

Cool game! I felt like the saucer was too large and slow (until upgrading) to dodge anything at all, so I took a lot of damage until I got enough scrap to upgrade. Also, the game crashed when I ran out of HP, so I ran the game again from a command prompt and it worked, so I am not sure what happened the first time. Bonus points for using Python 3 :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]