December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

A Minute in the Park

by Jacob - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You have 1 minute in the park.
There are beautiful geese flying by.
For some reason you are carrying a shotgun.
What happens next is up to you!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#237Audio2.81
#317Graphics3.05
#401Humor2.38
#517Mood2.50
#584Fun2.33
#611Theme2.57
#644Overall2.43
#738Innovation1.80
#1048Coolness22%

Comments

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:25pm

A bit tricky sometimes to understand where it's shooting but still fun.
I like a lot the Game Over tune.

Casino Jack says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:53pm

I love the art style - it's like playing a watercolor!

haxpor says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:40pm

I like the effect when shooting and the mosaic style of background.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:27pm

Good lord his mood is evil.

Nice work!

Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:00pm

shooting doesn't work properly. Artwork is great though.

loren says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:18pm

nice shake and art design

leafo says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:49am

cool style. hard to aim. the music is very intense

fishbrain says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 10:56am

hahaha... fun!

lukeeckley says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 6:32am

Great artwork and style! I like the music and sound fx too. I had trouble aiming and firing sometimes.

csanyk says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 12:47am

Not sure why, but the controls seem to be way off in Chrome.

Kimau says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 1:45pm

The shooting often bugged out or glitched in funny ways shooting the corners of the screen.

Really like the mood and the visual style was interesting. Could have been cleaned up a bit but overall really liked the mosaic effect.

bugninja says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 9:28pm

I really like it, and the graphics are very interesting. Not sure how you did those. Not everyone will think of the duck hunter as the villain, but I get it.

Mista Koo says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 3:50pm

I really like the player's sprite, with a little animation it would've looked awesome. Also the shooting effect is great.

The theme is a bit too obvious though. My first idea for the jam was to make something similar except with people, the ending would've revealed that they were harmless bystanders rather than enemy soldiers as they were billed.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]