Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

TAKEOVER - ahm99 - Jam Entry

YOU NEED JAVA TO PLAY THIS!

///////////////
//PLEASE READ//
///////////////
I HAVE A CONFESSION TO MAKE: I'm sorry but I went about 8 - 10 minutes into the submission hour BUT I was sick on day 2 and day 3 so I should have had that time anyway AND considering that some people's clocks were wrong, they probably went overtime too. Besides, this is the Jam so I can slightly bend a few rules right? Again, I'm sorry.

What I was trying to do was make a game where you have to disable robot goats and take over their circuit boards. You would then "become them" making you the villain. Get it? if not I'll probably make a post compo version so you can see what I was trying to do.

Features:
No sound. Cool right?
Robot Goats!
Unfinished functionality
ROBOT GOATS!
Booster thingys that fling you into the air!

Post-compo features:
Sound!
Health indicator
Fixed Takeover feature
sucky animations
Ability to win and lose

View ahm99's journal. | View all entries by ahm99

Ratings

#258Humor(Jam)1.95
#306Theme(Jam)2.11
#306Fun(Jam)1.95
#307Mood(Jam)1.89
#316Graphics(Jam)1.90
#317Innovation(Jam)1.85
#325Overall(Jam)1.90
#867Coolness39%

Comments

Cthu says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:45pm

No excuses. You can always bugfix during voting!

Starspell says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:05pm

It's a shame you didn't get around to finishing your idea - it could have been really interesting. Unfortunately as the game is it's not really a game, the graphics aren't brilliant and there is no audio.

I'd like to see where you would take this idea after the competition though.

Justin Kibbe says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:08pm

Good start for having less time than most to complete it. If you do make a post-compo version here are the priorities I would fix first:
- indicators for health and death
- that takeover power sounds awesome, so implement that
- Animations

Otherwise the rest of it is solid.

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:09pm

There was a heck of a long load time there. I actually thought the game crashed on start up. Also, it would be good to have some feedback to the users when they destroy an enemy (at the very least have them removed from the level).

Justin Kibbe says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:13pm

Good start for having less time than most to complete it. If you do make a post-compo version here are the priorities I would fix first:
- indicators for health and death
- that takeover power sounds awesome, so implement that
- Animations

Otherwise the rest of it is solid.

ahm99 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:20pm

I'll try to get a post compo version up soon.
@Justin Kibbe Those are the EXACT features I wanted :)

oldtopman says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:52am

Sometimes the most important part of Ludum Dare is submitting something, even if it isn't a game yet.

impulse9 says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 11:26pm

The gameplay is a little dull. I liked the idea though!

ahm99 says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 6:41pm

I think I may recode this thing and make an actual game. I know nobody will read this but whatever. Kilroy was here.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]