Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Virus Infestation

by Zathalos - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I created the game in about 15 hrs with Game Maker: Studio Pro.

Controls:
-WSAD/Arrows - Move
-Left Click - Shoot
-Q - Place virus spawner - 30bits cost
-Space - Replicate self - 10bits cost
-Space - Re-instantiate when fragmented(red zone) - 50 cost

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#17Fun3.88
#41Overall3.76
#118Graphics3.68
#137Mood3.25
#138Innovation3.40
#287Theme3.40
#530Humor2.06
#670Coolness49%

Comments

pfirsich says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:22am

This is one of the coolest LD25 games I've played yet! I wish it would have lasted longer (I wouldn't have stopped then). Very good work!

maiev says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:20am

Really fun! Took me a few rounds before I realized what everything did but afterwards it was awesome. I'm curious what the behavior of enemies and teammates are.

LenardG says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:06pm

The short tutorial at the beginning was a little confusing at first, but after I figured things out this was an enjoyable little game.

Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:13am

I love this one! Reminded me a lot of Gauntlet.

GameRespect says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:55am

A very fun and aesthetically appealing game!

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:27am

I agree with the others, confusing at first, but only because there is so much going on that is out of my control. Slowly starting getting it. It's surprisingly fun! :D

DragonKN says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:30pm

nice work

fishbrain says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:16am

nice and sort of gauntlet-y.

Retrac says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:46am

The tutorial level felt like an overload of information, but the mechanics were simple and easy to learn. The chaos in the later levels made for some fun fights.

OU GDA says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 7:44am

Really fun game. Controls, after a bit, were easy to pick up and the style was great. Would have liked to see a bit more variety in units or bits carrying over so that doing well in a level carried over.

Doublecaster says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 12:37pm

That was fun! It was really confusing at first, but then I got used to it. Also it was really hard do pickup the weapon you wanted from the ground.

Mista Koo says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 7:28pm

Very good game, but aside from being red has nothing to do with being evil.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]