About | Rules and Guide
ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 7 days, 1 hour, 59 minutes, 32 seconds
  • October Ends: in 8 days, 2 hours, 11 minutes, 32 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 43 days, 2 hours, 59 minutes, 32 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Bloody Ninja Spider - Alink - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    You are the evil Ninja Spider and you must eat all the pretty fireflies of each levels.

    Click to jump. Keep the button pressed to roll, release to stick to walls, but each material has special properties (avoid sand, water and slippery moss). The space key allows to control the view with the mouse.

    There is a jump counter, you may try to minimize this number, but that's just a suggested challenge. 'R' to retry the level. The last level (3rd, with 'The end'), has no exit.

    Fixed a typo making it much harder than intended (progress lost when you die, which made level 2 virtually unbeatable)

    View Alink's journal. | View all entries by Alink

    Ratings

    Coolness62%
    #12Fun3.94
    #21Innovation4.00
    #26Overall3.91
    #99Mood3.36
    #297Graphics3.10
    #476Theme2.94
    #499Humor2.14
    #629Audio1.00

    Comments

    lekochen says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:33am

    Can't pass the second level...too hard for me. I think it would be great if you add some checkpoints...or maybe more hit points for Ninja Spider.

    amassingham says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:39am

    The tuck and roll mechanic is great. Did you think about how you might extend the concept if you had more time? Maybe some web swinging?

    Alink says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:05pm

    lekochen: Yeah, I added water at the end, checkpoints and swimming were planned, but not enough time.

    amassingham: Rope swigging was part of the initial plan, but I needed jumping and climbing first, and then I realized it was already a very powerful movement and "game-y" enough. Also, I improvised the collision engine, so not sure how much I could push it.

    Some additional tricks are currently possible with the engine (just need to draw pixels) but one more challenging idea was to have moving fireflies, forcing you to time your jump. Maybe even make them slow when you are far, so you can surprise them with a long jump (which are more challenging).

    DST says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:48pm

    This game is waaay more fun than it should be.. :D Very fluid and cool mechanic, just works(TM).

    Luis Anton says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:48pm

    Great game! Reminds me of The Secret of Bryce Manor (iOS). Well done : )

    robashton says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:53pm

    I love the jump and stick and roll mechanics, it would be great extended into a real game with more features.

    lorancou says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:56pm

    Great entry! Very nice, polished, controls, I enjoyed playing that. Got stuck in the second level too but I loved the game anyway :) A suggestion would be to be able to re-launch a rope while in mid-air, this would probably help sometimes, especially in this level 2.

    KEFIR says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:56pm

    Brilliant idea! Fun and simple!

    Manest says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:57pm

    Realy impresive used of physics engine.
    Nice used of the theme too.

    Good work

    Puffi says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:59pm

    Gotta agree with the previous comments, the mechanic itself is great, but checkpoints would've been really nice.

    Should there be any audio ? Couldn't hear any sounds, but I'm afraid it might be issue with my browser.

    zenmumbler says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:00pm

    Nice mechanic that does translate into a whole-lotta-clickin but I liked the 1st level. Instadeath in water made me not finish 2nd level but overall this is well executed. Nice.

    eventhandler says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:02pm

    The jumping mechanic is great and works really well!

    Datw says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:04pm

    The web page won't load. Sad, I really thought this one looked fun!

    dvdking says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:11pm

    Wow this game looks very innovative. Game mechanics work very good. Would be really good for touch devices.

    Alink says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:20pm

    Thanks for your nice comments.

    @ Puffi: No sounds, I had flash bugs (annoying delay) and no time to fix, so I decided to use ninja sounds.

    @ Datw: oh :(. The game is very light (180kb) but has no preloader, maybe try to wait in case connection is very slow.

    Clavus says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:35pm

    Great mechanics and fun game!

    mrspeaker says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:36pm

    Wow! Nice work - hope you keep working on it!

    Alink says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:34pm

    Wow, I finally now better understand why players wanted checkpoints. A last minute typo broke the respawn. It's indeed much too harsh like that (I couldn't pass my own level). Sorry for people who tried with this bug, or bravo for your perseverance.

    I updated the entry and documented the change. Previous testers may need to hit ctrl+F5 to force their browser to use the new file.

    Sestren says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:34am

    Feels a bit like a game of golf, particularly with the jump counter in the corner. Really nice concept and well-executed!

    pfirsich says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:34pm

    This game is absolutle amazing! I love it. It's more fun than almost all the other games I've played yet. I'm not sure who much exactly it has to do with "You are the villain", but I'm completely okay with this (hence the already mentioned awesomeness).

    Alink says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:33am

    @ Sestren: Yes, indeed, small inspiration from that. I didn't really pushed in that direction, though.

    @pfirsich: Thanks! The idea is that a big ugly spider is a classical villain in video games. I tried to emphasizes this with the sprites (cute passive light-bringer fireflies versus nasty jumpy spider easting them all), but with limited time and arts skills, it is not easy.

    CoffeeOnimal says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:56am

    Great game! I saw on your post-mortem that you came to this mechanic because you couldn't get walking to work. If this was an accident, make more! This worked out great. I can't really find anything wrong or that I would improve with this. Excellent work.

    Freakill says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:21pm

    AMAZING! I'm really impressed, mechanics are really good (the only "flaw I could point is drowning recognizition some times, but just to say something). Honestly I am really impressed, the feel of the spider rolling is really good. I'm not an insectologist, but I've seen some documentaries to have recalled the moment of WOW when saw spiders rolling. I really liked it. The scenarios are also well designed to pose a challenge (maybe second one starts a little bit abruptly in difficulty). Please go forward with this game, web mechanics would be also really cool :) really cool game, one of the best played so far!!! :D Creepy sounds would be awesome too ;)

    juaxix says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:25pm

    Love this Spidey :)
    Very good done, I see like a very playable and interesting game

    ncannasse says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 7:44pm

    The controls are quite good : simple and addictive, feels like a real spider. The game is lacking a bit of goals though.

    Colapsydo says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 7:52pm

    The spider moves are quiet realistic, and actions make the gameplay fun and challenging.
    Like some other, I found a bit frustrating to always come back at the starting point in the second level.

    michax says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 5:11pm

    Ok, currently my favorite game! Second level is a little to hard but it's still enjoyable challange. Great mechanics! Graphics could be better but for compo it's perfect entry. Congralutation!

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    [cache: storing page]