December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Golden Goat

by MidgeS - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Golden Goat

My final version of the Game. A lot of learning and nearly dropping from the compo. Would have loved to add some more features like security-cameras and laser-sensors.
Includes a basic level. Instrunctions for creating own levels will follow in a later blogpost.

Break into the National Museum and take the Holy "Golden Goat".
But watch out and dont get catched by the guard.

-- Instructions--
Aim with mouse and leftklick of hit space to give move command.
Yout can move the camera around by using WASD.
When close to the tressure you can pick it up.
You then have to go to the green exit marker.
Beware, game will close when reaching exit.


Requires at least Java5. Unzip and start with Golden_Goat.jar.
If your are not able to run Executable Jars you can start by using followin comand in Shell:

java -jar Golden_Goat.jar

Will try to put a Webversion online soon.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#423Theme3.08
#619Fun2.25
#635Overall2.46
#687Graphics2.00
#689Mood2.00
#709Innovation2.00
#1027Coolness24%

Comments

dan.jeffrey says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:12am

can't open the zip

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:23am

I can't download the file. It says there is a server problem. :(

ripter says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:24am

Controls didn't work the frist time. Once they did it took a few clicks for the move line to show up.

netgrind says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:24am

Could do with some more levels, I would of loved to play some more.

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:28am

Got it to work on Mac OSX with no problems

SimianLogic says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:38am

Really rough camera controls. Maybe put some kind of indicator on the thief? The first couple of tries I didn't see him at all and that I was doing some kind of laser-bouncing route-planning or something.

Also, if you have the golden goat and get caught, you respawn with the goat. Should probably have to steal it again. =]

Spelchan says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:01am

Needs more levels or a more elaborate single level. Glad you warned me about the ending.

BrothersT says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:05am

Well done on submitting something playable :) It's a good idea for a game!

Sergey Mohov says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 3:46pm

Nice! A 3D infiltration game in Java. Really like the concept.

GameRespect says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 5:11am

Nice concept, but extremely short. At least it's playable. Nice try, but needs to be longer.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]