December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

ARM: Alien Research Mission

by Hume - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Flight, unethical experiments and wanton destruction.

It's A.R.M., the Alien Research Mission for purely peaceful purposes.*

**** Controls ****
* Up propels you in the direction of the top of the UFO, like a helicopter.
* Left and Right rotate you left and right. Once you start rotating, you need to thrust the other direction to slow down. Go easy until you get the hang of it.

**** Tips ****
* Fly your UFO around and level up by reaching the end of the level without crashing or earning too much notoriety. Each human left alive increases your notoriety. (Humans on screen when the level ends don't count.)
* Destroy buildings for bonus villainy.
* If you can't figure out how to gargle a frotz, just try something random.
* If you go off the left or right edges of the screen, the game will nudge you back on. If you go off the top, don't panic! You'll come back down...eventually.
* Low and slow is the easiest way to cause maximum chaos.
* If I had another 10 minutes, there'd be goats.

I've provided an .app version for OSX and an .exe version for Windows. Unzip the file and run. On other platforms, you should be able to run the JAR by double clicking.

If you only play games on the web, make a big fuss and I'll see if I can figure out the GWT backend for libgdx.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#125Audio3.18
#142Innovation3.39
#173Humor3.11
#190Overall3.31
#223Fun3.14
#315Mood2.88
#326Theme3.29
#475Graphics2.68

Comments

donmilham says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:46am

Great game. Fun physics associated with abduction. Controls were novel yet a little frustrating. I can totally see how you would have insert the goat into this one. :D

loren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:02am

I liked the physics a lot, was glad you could pick up the buildings.

ix says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:10am

Nice take on abduction. I felt like a graphical indicator for the tractor beam was missing, but otherwise the game felt complete.

Controls could maybe use another round of tuning (make everything except rotation happen about 1.5x faster + add some inertia to rotation might be a good start). I feel like catching the humans could be a cool little mini-reaction-game with a faster ship.

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:12am

I found this game very entertaining, but not, I think, in the way you intended. I cannot for the life of me figure the controls out. But I am definitely enjoying the endless barrel rolls.

vrld says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:27am

Very entertaining. Reminds me of Kill all Humans - definitely a good thing!

Dr. Mo says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:29am

This game is loads of fun. I couldn't stop until I had over 1000 buildings "examined," and things finally started to slow down. This game has a sort of Katamari quality of picking up bigger and bigger buildings.

leothecool says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:33am

Fun game, I liked the crazy controls. I think the sound might be buggy in the windows version, it was just a super loud reverb.

apophenia says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:39pm

I developed some sort of a QWOP-like rhythm and was able to successfully propel myself forward the first time I played this, but was unable to do anything besides immediately crash and burn on subsequent plays.

Hume says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:19pm

@apophenia, @Crowbreak, I should have explained the controls better (although they were never intended to be easy). QWOP is a little harder than I intended, although I still crash regularly.

oldtopman says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:49am

Fantastic! I have nothing bad to say about this game! I love the feeling of destruction you get when you go through some of the later levels.

johndb says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:55am

Fun! Wrecking the buildings was a blast, and difficult controls kept it interesting.

Remblej says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:29pm

It's very cool game

Klakwa says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:57pm

It was kinda hard to control, but I really liked the idea! Cool game overall!

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:11pm

With the additional movement information, I'm not endlessly spinning, but there's still something off and it's too hard to control. I feel like this really needs animation to give a visual indicator of what the saucer is doing.

Hume says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:17pm

@Crowbeak It sounds like you're not getting much of a response from your actions, which makes me think that there's something in your environment I didn't see in testing.

I apologize for the frustration, and thanks for giving it another shot.

ceronman says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:30pm

Interesting! It fits well with the theme. Controlling the ship is really hard!. Nice music and sounds.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:51pm

Quite fun controlling the ship. Nice music as well!

Birchmountain says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:10pm

I really liked the controls, challenging yet fun! Great job.

Ysty says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:00pm

That was great. Felt like QWOP in a spaceship.

zkenshin says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 2:24am

Felt a bit slow, but fun game, and nice take on the theme.

jmaasing says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 9:15pm

That was fun :)

GameRespect says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 5:37am

Interesting aesthetics, but frustrating controls. Could use a little polish, but overall, a nice game!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]