Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

PST: 6 PM
*EST: 9 PM
UTC: 02:00

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

Ludum Dare 31:
Ludum Deals
???
 
Recent:
MiniLD #XX

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Tourist Trap - HeyChinaski - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Requires Java for the download or the browser version. As always, downloading the jar seems to be a better experience than running the applet. The window can be resized but I'd recommend playing with the default size.

Look out for signs, they will guide you. You needn't read the following instructions (unless you get stuck):

Move : Left/Right
Hide : Z
Jump : Space
Toggle Music : M
Next Level : Enter

You can hide from the tourists by pressing 'Z'. Whilst you're hiding you can't move. If a tourist catches you in his view while you're not hiding you will have to start the level over.

View HeyChinaski's journal. | View all entries by HeyChinaski

Ratings

Coolness66%
#6Overall4.11
#19Fun3.83
#21Innovation4.00
#26Mood3.81
#34Theme4.06
#38Graphics4.14
#41Humor3.70
#71Audio3.38

Comments

loren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:39am

This was fun, pretty unique :)

Tapestry says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:04pm

Awesome game, loved it!

rujo says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:48pm

very nice and well done. one of my favourites

Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:40pm

Well I found it pretty tough, but the idea was fantastic. The visuals were great as well, the ghost was cute and then terrifying. The first few times you pressed Z were cool, when you disguise yourself as stuff. Good work

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:50am

1 of the best game I have played ... very nice job ... keep up the good work

Tyren says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:52am

Well done! The jump sound was a bit odd for a ghost, but fun!

Diventurer says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:52am

You'll get a good rating from me. I really found this innovative, humurous and overall a very nice game. There is one thing that I found weird though; after I closed the game - the music still played. Lol, it stopped now though, after a minute or so.

suve says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:20am

Really nice idea! The graphics are really nice and the music is fitting. Definitely fun.

Husky says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:18am

Good old style!
Pretty fun, thanks!

SirJson says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:51pm

Nice game! I tried the Web Version but the music plays forever even when the tab is closed.. now THAT is scary ;)

eShredder says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:05pm

I think you might have missed out to end the thread in the game when it is closed. The music kept playing and the Java process was still running after closing the game.
Apart from that. Lovely graphics and solid concept. 5/5

Luis Anton says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:15pm

So cute! I love this take on stealth :D

ahm99 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:07am

I really liked the hide feature. I would have preferred x for the jump key, but it was still fun. Good job :)

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:19am

Nice game! The sound didn't work on my mac, and pressing 'm' froze the game, so I just won't rate the audio.

I still enjoyed it though. Last level was difficult but fun. :D

HeyChinaski says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:53pm

I fixed some issues with sound, the music should go away when you close the tab now. However I think the sound may not work for some on Mac.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:56pm

Good idea, something hair-pullingly frustrating experience in the last level. Fun how tech has evolved that we can create a cheap NES game with slightly awkward physics in 2 days instead of 2 weeks like they used to. Commendable.

JesterBLUE says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:58pm

Loved the graphics, especially the frightened tourists, and how hiding turned you into random different objects. Jumping was tough - required you to count the number of stripes to jump and then do it. Different challenge than what my brain is wired for when jumping.

master4523 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:03pm

One of the best game I've played! I wish you would have had time to add some other game mechanics, like tourists who could turn on the light. Overall, great graphics, great audio, great game, great ratings.

markengley says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:43pm

Wonderfully old school. Very solid all rounder - especially nice graphics and music.

pillbrain says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:44pm

really enjoyed that. Liked the art, enjoyed scaring the tourists, really got to hate them especially on the last level!

Beerman says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:05pm

Very nice. I loved the hiding by disguising yourself as pot plants and bookcases - very Scooby Doo :)

Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:30pm

Wonderful little game! Didn't liek hte first level insta-kills you several times before your get it.

frosty says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 2:08am

The hiding mechanic was a nice touch. Great work. =)

Dir3kt says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Brillant. Like the mood.

OU GDA says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 6:09pm

Really fun mechanic. Would have liked to see a bit more vertical levels than just the jump off the edge and hide that would get you through most of the game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]