December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Death by Tree

by EdiiKnorand - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Death By Tree is a Tower Defense which you are a murder tree and kill adventurers and summon bunnies.

LD48 25 Entry by Edii Knorand.

Later I will compile to some platforms.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1189Coolness0%

Comments

Bemmu says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:18am

Could get more plays if there was a binary. Tried to "make" but apparently missing SDL, so decided to move to next game.

gameXcore says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:38am

Agreed, build, package with the correct dlls and then upload somnewhere!

pythong says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:40pm

and hurry! you're currently losing votes...

Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:52pm

The README mentions SDL and SDL_image but not SDL_mixer and SDL_ttf.

The graphics were very charming, and the gameplay simple and intuitive (once you'd tried out both items). It gets very hard very quickly, to the point that I don't think any amount of skill would help.

Some sort of score system (or at least a game over screen) would've been appreciated - as it is, the game quits as soon as you die.

EdiiKnorand says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:10pm

Remove "engine/text" and "engine/sound" from the first line of Makefile and "SDL_mixer" and "SDL_ttf" from the second line. I think it works...
I'll update the makefile later.

Dmitrix says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:47am

Made in C? Sounds difficult for making a game in 24 hours. Only git hub source?

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:23am

Sorry, with 1300+ entries, you have to make a better effort than this to get people to play your game.

TehSkull says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 4:53am

Over a week later and no binaries.

Jezzamon says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 1:17am

Well, I can see why this has pretty much no votes. Are we expected to download the source files, edit them, and the compile them and run them?

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]