Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

PST: 6 PM
*EST: 9 PM
UTC: 02:00

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

Ludum Dare 31:
Ludum Deals
???
 
Recent:
MiniLD #XX

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Bertie the Butcher - Casino Jack - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"Bertie the Butcher is a serial killer in training. Guide him through ten levels taking out targets, avoiding the fuzz, and cleaning up after himself."

Due to a combination of lacking the ability to 'art' and wanting to try out something different, I kept (for the most part) within the constraints of the Gameboy: 160x144 resolution, 4 color palette and 8x8 sprites.

The general idea of the game is to take out all the targets in the level (cops are optional, but be careful because they will shoot you on sight if panic is high, and recognise you if you get too close). Any time a target sees blood or a murder, the panic level will increase. If the panic level gets too high, the targets will avoid you and the cops will chase and shoot you.


Controls:
WASD/cursor keys to move
SPACE to attack
SHIFT to clean

View Casino Jack's journal. | View all entries by Casino Jack

Ratings

Coolness100%
#12Fun3.94
#33Overall3.83
#55Theme3.97
#73Mood3.47
#101Innovation3.56
#134Graphics3.62
#267Humor2.82
#300Audio2.60

Comments

Meep says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:25am

I really like the art-style you chose for this. Cleaning up the blood from a kill was a very clever touch!

amassingham says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:27am

Oh I do like this one.
Sure, it's morbid, but the cleaning up blood is such a great idea. Wish there was a frantic scrubbing animation for it though.

Nice work.

dredlockz says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:30am

Really nice concept, it's like some sort of real-time puzzle game. The graphics are simple and appealing, good job!

cjgammon says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:30am

this is fun. the transitions(fades) are a bit slow. I wish I could move through the levels quicker without it fading and going to various screens and only go to the store through a menu or something when i pause. making the play quicker would make it more exciting. good job.

lur says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:34am

Becomes a bit too easy once you've got all the upgrades.

namuol says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:41am

I watch a lot of Dexter lately, so this is fitting. Love the blood-cleaning mechanic. It wasn't very challenging near the end once I had the powerups. I would have liked it if there was some kind of reward for never causing a panic, since that tends to be a much harder way to finish a level. Still, the graphics were lovely (the monotone colors make the blood stand out -- stylish).

Pent says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:07pm

I really love this one

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:22pm

I like a lot of things in this game !

Hazel says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:33pm

Oh my gosh! I never thought a game about serial killers could be so lovely. Everything about this is great, especially the little murder animations.

Smaxx says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:36pm

Very nice, could imagine this being one of the first gen Game Boy games.

Manest says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:39pm

Realy nice graphics
Funny game
Challenging

I like it very much!

Zazibar says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:45pm

One of my favorite games so far, really simple and fun. Loved it.

Zaszx says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:31pm

Awesome, probably the best I have seen. But, I found killing cops easier than avoiding them; I think it could be better if avoiding them was easier.

tommycreo says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:28pm

Great game, I like the idea of cleaning the blood.

Tapestry says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:19am

I love the minimal sound effects and graphics. Really simple, yet so good! The gameplay is really smooth. Had fun playing. :)
Great job!

ParaPup says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:10am

Nice and bloody >.<

tomvert says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:06pm

Haha, chicken suit !

gnx says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:26pm

Funny how this game shares a lot of features with mine, but we still took a very different approach to gameplay :)

Nice graphics and easy to understand gameplay.
The guards seem to glitch (when coming into contact with blood?) and disappear momentarily though.

Andrey Pradun says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:24pm

Awesome game!

BlockBrains says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:46pm

Great game. Awesome style, i think it fits perfectly. Cheers.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:23pm

Nice game.

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:24pm

Simple as they may be, you got a lot out of the mechanics and strategies at hand. The clear level progression is pleasant and held my interest all the way to the end.

MrEvilGuy says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:13am

Fun and squeeky. Cops are too easy to kill though!

rvmook says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:17pm

Fun game, good art simple but nice sounds and good level progression. Sometimes the game sort of flickers and afterwards the cops and targets appear somewhere else but that didn't bother me to much. Great work for the 48 hours!

Xeke_Death says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:07am

2D hitman...! That was pretty enjoyable.

Logun says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:13am

Cool little game. I want more levels with enhanced cameplay !

cwilloughby says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:31am

Very nice work. Very impressed for the time frame. Fun and challenging. Go stuck at the streets level.

01101101 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:57am

very very nice ! well done !

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:27am

I like this graphic style =)
Game idea is really awesome but not new.
Nice work anyway! I love your game despite f*cking and lagging flash!

Faust says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:41am

Really nice one, compact and well polished in such a short time, great job.

Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:00pm

simple and awesome. Great pixels!

SunShiranui says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:21pm

Very good game!

illugion says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 1:38pm

Really solid and fun gameplay, i liked the graphics too, it was really cool to play XD

h.attila says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 12:32am

Polished game with nice mechanics. Well done!

har_g says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 12:50pm

Cool, i feel like hitman after playing this.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 2:36am

Well made! This was one of the most fun entries I've played yet, in spite of having buggy collision and getting a little easy towards the end. The graphics, although very simple, had a uniform aesthetic and looked quite nice.

Mesene says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 10:23pm

Nice game! very solid :) I should try something with that gameboy style. thanks for the fun!

Spelchan says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 7:23pm

Great game! My only real complaint is that it is too easy to get stuck when trying to enter 1-tile corridors. Good build up of difficulty. Killing cops earning extra money was great addition and made it possible to make harder levels easier once you took care of a few of them. Loved the store items.

Houly says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 12:42am

Really was fun. Simple mechanics, but they work. Graphics are nice and the whole thing is very polished!

fishbrain says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 2:37pm

Cute... yet violent.

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 12:55pm

This was a great game.
Nice little touches here and there, like the cleaning up, the cool-down time after trying a hit, even the peons break times.
Nicely done.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]