December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

DieCubesDie

by Fate - Jam Entry

A game in which you must kill maze solving cubes.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#29Mood(Jam)3.62
#48Innovation(Jam)3.50
#78Humor(Jam)3.15
#92Overall(Jam)3.36
#98Graphics(Jam)3.64
#98Fun(Jam)3.14
#120Theme(Jam)3.50
#1027Coolness24%

Comments

Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:36pm

My first thought is "Hooray, a Linux binary!". My second thought is "Eh? It's in a .zip file?"

The game's pretty challenging - especially with a touchpad - but a few times I did manage to block off the exit completely.

I'm on a 16:10 monitor so the text on the sides was cut off - if anybody else isn't on a 16:9 monitor, I'd recommend reading it beforehand.

This was pretty fun and very technically impressive. It's a nice mashup of tower defense and puzzle games!

tomc says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:53pm

It's definitely possible to completely trap the blocks (try building walls from the entrance up to the first set of spike and closing them in with it). Probably you want to run some search algorithm each time a block is placed to check that no blocks are unable to reach the exit.

Kudos for the linux binary though, and it's a pretty clever idea!

Fate says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:11am

Thanks for playing, I will play your guy's games later when I finish work.

The game does stop you from placing walls that block cubes from finishing, but I coded it quickly before submitting the game, so it probably has some major flaws. I know that it doesn't take the entrance into account, so you can block the entrance, and then no cubes can solve the maze, or if there are no cubes in the maze you can block the exit.

MaTX says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:02pm

Pretty nice gameplay and stylish graphics.

oldtopman says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:34am

While not a spectacular game, this one left me feeling dirty afterwards. 5/5 in Mood.

someone says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:52pm

That was great.
The input was a bit awkward though. Mouse picking would have been better.

myachin says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:24pm

dont have lunix

Fate says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:53am

@myachin you can still play on windows. The download is a zip that contains all the source. I've been meaning to compile for windows, but just haven't got round to booting up windows and getting sdl and opengl for it.

Dec 24, 2012 @ 2:41pm

Apparently my 16:10 screen isn't wide enough, because the instructions got clipped off. But very original puzzler, and pretty gory looking too!

Mista Koo says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 9:43am

It appears flickery for some reason, it hurt my eyes and crashed my pc :(

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]