December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Crustacean Chaos

by Komradus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Here it is, Crustacean Chaos!

Important - I recommend you don't play on the web build, it really detracts from the experience.

You are some sort of crustacean creature, living among a colony of your people. As far as you all know, this is the largest of the few colonies that remain.
In order to survive, you rely on the so called "home blocks" to feed you energy and life.
But these blocks don't just sustain, they empower. You don't like that the power of the blocks is carefully rationed and limited, you want it all, and nobody can stop you from doing so. Right after you absorb all the energy remaining in your block...

Use your powers of gravitational manipulation to create chaos on your path to conquer the colony, and consume any who stand in your way.


I greatly regret being unable to add sound (time limitations), so I recommend you put on your favorite playlist and go nuts.

Files are all hosted via Google Drive, once you've selected which build you desire, go File -> Download (Google's "file" option, not your browsers "file" option)

*Update* Web build now links to actual playable site. However, your browser might tell you to "install unity web player" even when it's installed, in the top right of the URL bar there might be a little shield icon, click it and choose "run anyway".

Developed in Unity Free. Available on Windows 32/64, Mac OS, and web based. If demand is sufficient I'll release a Linux build as well.

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#142Innovation3.39
#239Graphics3.26
#353Overall3.00
#367Fun2.84
#415Mood2.69
#545Humor2.00
#575Audio1.40
#595Theme2.63

Comments

Dec 16, 2012 @ 5:14pm

Could you make the Web version playable? plz :)

Dec 16, 2012 @ 5:17pm

And the Other files in a zip, so they are downloadable

Xheis says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:06am

Loved the mechanics, but premise lacked substantial substance. That said, it is a fantastic entry to the Ludum Dare and have rated accordingly, good luck :)

loren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:35pm

This was fun, it felt 'crisp', very responsive

zerebruin says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:24am

Great concept. Could definitely do with some music, but still a fun game to play!

Felix20 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:12am

Only problem I had with it, was there are no visible boundaries to where things are, and no compass to help find thing or find you're way back

Husky says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:17am

It's fun to play a physic game like this!
But I suggest adding the boundary :)

RARoadkill says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:12am

Cool game. lots of fun to throw stuff around

Dylan McCall says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:48am

Your physics stuff here is really impressive! Nicely tuned :)

I love the unique visual style, too. Neat mix of 3D and 2D, and it feels a little like ink on paper. I found it a little hard to figure out, and I think one of the big problems I was that it was easy to just wander outside the interesting part of the world, and into an empty grey wilderness. Once I got used to staying close to the starting point, it made a bunch more sense.

Logun says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:39am

Lack of things to do sadly, because it has cool graph and the feelings withe the 3 skills are awesome !

Bloodyaugust says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:52am

Just link using normal http protocol, not https. You'll do fine that way. :)

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 1:48pm

wow it was a good one I liked the powers, but was there any music?,and as some had said some kind of map or compass would be good so you don't get lost in the vast white area of the colony :)

Bullseye8841 says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 9:23pm

Overall, I found it to be an interesting and engaging game.

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:29pm

Very interesting concept. The web version ran fine for me. I was expecting more crustaceans, though. :p

Sergey Mohov says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 3:10pm

This one feels really solid. To those wondering about the Web version, just remove the "s" from "https." That's a Dropbox-induced bug.

lucasncv says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 5:34pm

Very nice entry, really fun!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]