December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Muffin the Destroyer

by Beanalby - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Extremely short. Please at least play through to the first stage, even if it seems horrible and crappy.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#29Humor3.79
#137Audio3.13
#186Fun3.22
#245Mood3.00
#392Theme3.15
#449Innovation2.67
#483Overall2.78
#587Graphics2.33

Comments

deathray says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:24am

I've never seen a town with so many important buildings!
Repetitive but still somewhat enjoyable. It bothers me that Muffin has no arms or legs. Good job doing a tutorial at the beginning! More games could use that - mine included.

Beanalby says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:22pm

It uses the "Show Controls" package I made specifically for "quick & dirty" Ludum Dare stuff like this: http://home.beanalby.net/projects/ShowControls/

mikemacdee says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:02am

when i booted it up, i groaned and thought "another stupid cat game, and an ugly one to boot". i almost closed it, but decided i'd play past the tutorial anyway.

i'm SO glad i did! that was hysterical!

Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:59pm

That was brilliant pacing. Nice work!

Spelchan says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:40am

To my surprise I actually enjoyed the game. If Muffin is based on a real cat make sure it never sees your drawing of him/her!

surpy says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:59am

It was pretty funny! I enjoyed destroying the town. I wish there was more than one level though. Regardless, I had fun.

Pitoum says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:05pm

Short but funny :) Destroyed all th town 4 times!

Oreganik says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 8:49pm

That was awesome. I loved how pokey the cat was in the tutorial, and then.... WHAM! CATZILLA! I played the first level three times. =) hahahah +1

impulse9 says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 11:56pm

This is pretty fun. :) Too bad it's kind of short.

mrspeaker says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 2:26am

Awesome stomping effect. I squished 'em good.

infernet89 says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 12:15pm

Pretty small game, but i liked the surprise after the tutorial!

csanyk says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 4:56am

lol! that was an experience.

crashbanito says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 7:23pm

The game is simple, but it must be noted that your comedic timing is fantastic.

rvmook says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 8:55pm

I liked it. Funny sounds and for 48 hours I think you did a good job in Unity!

Retrac says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 3:48am

Haha that was great, would love to see more levels. Good luck on future projects!

GameRespect says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 5:30am

The concept itself is hilarious, and it is just a weird, fun little game. Nice job!

fishbrain says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 11:05am

hahaha!... that was fun! Great transition into the game!

Jeremias says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 3:11pm

I encourage you to use international key bindings. In this game that isn't the problem, but if you make games with a more complex control scheme, it's somehow difficult to play, if on someones keyboard the keys Y and Z are swapped :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]