December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Flight of the Abductor

by enfyrneaux - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Operate a devious little flying saucer and abduct goats. Get a goat to the top of the screen underneath your ship to score points. Controls are a bit tricky - just remember that the ship will always try to fly to where you last clicked/touched.

Based on LibGDX with Box2D physics and more than a few simple PID controllers - the ship only has one "thrust" vector, and it tries to keep balance like a drunken helicopter pilot. Funny enough, I spent much time tuning the saucer controllers so it wouldn't spiral out of control the instant it bumped into anything.

Tested on an Acer A100 (Tegra 2), should work on similar Android devices. The JAR should work on all desktop platforms so long as the machine has OpenGL 2.0 and a decent VM.

I am continuing development of this game, any updates will be posted here or on my homepage at www.korphane.com.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#164Humor3.13
#248Audio2.77
#296Innovation3.02
#341Mood2.82
#356Graphics2.97
#365Theme3.21
#403Overall2.91
#417Fun2.74

Comments

TheCze says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:54am

Tested it on an Android Tablet. Plays nice, would be really cool if it would use gyro for movement :)

enfyrneaux says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:55am

That really should have occurred to me! Tilt control will go into the next version, then.

timtipgames says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:18am

Tested on a Asus Transformer TF101 (Tegra2). Also plays nice. I agree gyro would be the perfect addition I think :) Also the gameplay could be improved by more variance. Nevertheless a nice use of physics! Well done.

netgrind says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:35am

The physics felt really nice in this game

Falkreon says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:37am

I like the sound effects, especially the giggle when you abduct a goat. Fits the secondary theme better than the first. I'm sad that I couldn't test it on an android, the mouse controls on a desktop don't seem to work nearly as well.

nihilocrat says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:07am

My score was 9 goats!

KhaoTom says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:09am

Getting that giggle is so fun.

SimianLogic says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:16am

Fun toy! I had a really hard time stopping my saucer once I got it going, but otherwise it works as advertise. Abduct goats!

deathray says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:55am

The controls and the physics are nice, but not much gameplay yet. Randomly abducting goats did turn out to be fun though.

ix says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:20am

I agree with a previous comment -- not much gameplay.

However, there's a germ of something good in here. With a little bit of adjustment (maybe some damping) that saucer could be just tricky enough to pilot.
Throw in some sort of threat to dodge, and a risk-reward mechanism to convince the player to fly around while trailing a lot of goats (and only then off the screen). Definitely worthwhile.

hints says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:15am

Played on PC. Something about the controls makes me grin. It always feels like the saucer is about to crash, and that's just perfect.

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:16am

:D I love the animation for the flying saucer. The control scheme is very interesting. And I like how the goats will fall off if you go to fast.

MrEvilGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:21am

Hilarious! I went flying along hitting goats. So awesome. Kind of reminds me of a old game called Mars Taxi. Great job!

jmk says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:40am

Haha, I actually kind of like the drunken ship effect. It seems oddly appropriate for an alien ship that spends its time abducting goats in the middle of nowhere ... :)

Drabiter says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:42pm

I use same library, and this is very good :)

impulse9 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:29pm

Lovely game. Funny sound effects. :)

dom2d says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:47pm

Played on Windows, and it's pretty hard to control? And how do we score points? The goats just stay floating around and my score does not go up.

enfyrneaux says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:23pm

Take the goat to the top of the screen and the flying saucer will "abduct" it.

Mythalore says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:31pm

Nice graphics, unfortunately very over done gameplay.

amassingham says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:30am

Maybe consider adding some visual effects when a goat is under the influence of your tract. beam ?

Other than that, I love the drunken UFO and the general game is nice!

drewfitz says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:35am

Haha, the little laughing sound is great.

31eee384 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:41am

Great graphics, good sound. I just wish there was more physical interaction, so I could get a better feel for how the controls work. Enemies to avoid, other things to abduct, anything--the game did feel somewhat bare as it is. Funny when the goats go flying across the screen, though, haha.

EatenAlive3 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:54am

Interesting. I got a score of 31! I'd love to see more when you develop it :D and nice goat sounds.

kewry says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:36am

Poor goats floating around in space

OU GDA says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:14am

it would be nice to have some kind of visual representation of the force your ship is exerting on the goats. also, it would be cool if they exploded if they hit the ground with a lot of force

boena says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:42am

Hahaha loved the sound fx. Fun game, good job!

Lashiz121 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:13pm

Amazing game but in my opinion it need more goats xD

xandy says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:33pm

loked the idea but the controlls wrern't much fun

Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:43am

Plays great on a Transformer Prime :) I really dig the physics you have going on here.

voidstar69 says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 10:12pm

I preferred this on my PC than on my Android phone - on my Galaxy S3 controlling the UFO seemed much more difficult. Fun game, and great sound effects and humor!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]