December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Plunder!

by MarekkPie - Jam Entry

Solo project (started Saturday).

UPDATE:

Just added a Windows executable version. I've only opened it on the machine that has LOVE installed already, so I cannot verify that it is working correctly, but I've followed what their website suggests, so it should work.

I had a Linux binary up there, but I hadn't read about needing to create the various packaging information, so it wouldn't have worked without you going out and installing the LOVE package from your package manager anyways. So Linux users, you guys just get the Source link. OS X users are in the same boat.

I might see about porting it to the experimental WebGL stuff (since I didn't really use too much fancy stuff), but that's a big "might" at the moment.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#178Fun(Jam)2.74
#209Innovation(Jam)2.64
#222Humor(Jam)2.17
#234Theme(Jam)2.91
#239Overall(Jam)2.71
#270Graphics(Jam)2.43
#274Mood(Jam)2.30
#776Coolness45%

Comments

Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:48am

At the level where there are two tall towers and a hole in the middle, I can't get back up if I go into the hole to kill the guys in there :(

AyCe says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:44pm

Please compile it, so it runs on Windows. That way I can test it! :)

someone says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:54am

It kept refusing to throw the dead bodies around. The arrow would appear but nothing happens.

Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:00am

Had fun throwing dead bodies at the archers.

AyCe says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:22pm

Ok, so I played your game! :) Some issues: I died in lvl 3 (or so) and when i pressed R i spawned in another room, you can get negative HP, and if you attack while landing you will glitch thru the floor (and might die). The archers remind me of Kyle Broslovski somehow ^^

MarekkPie says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:14pm

Bummer about the bugs, but glad to here the Windows packaging worked.

singpolyma says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:30pm

I can't get past the third level (first with berserker). I kill him, but when I go to the door nothing happens.

singpolyma says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:34pm

Physics is buggy, but it's pretty fun when it's working.

zatyka says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:17am

I ran into most of the bugs mentioned already. Unfortunately, I couldn't get very far :(.

hnjslater says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:52am

Yeh I couldn't make most of the enemy's throw. hmm

cwalter5 says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 4:00am

I liked the inclusion of the throwing mechanic when it worked. I had problems with it like several others have mentioned. It would have been nice to be able to throw the bodies further as the first level where you introduce it, you can barely hit the archer.

Reading your blog entry I wouldn't worry so much about your graphics, as they are serviceable and fixing your mechanics is a lot more important. If you were able to defend yourself or jump to avoid attacks it would have been a lot better.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 8:12am

The game's pretty bugged. I had to restart a level, and apparently it sent me to a completely different level. Once I'd completed that level, it just reset the level, not moving on. The game also kept refusing to throw bodies.

Another minor problem is that the instruction text goes by too fast. It took a bit for me to get the controls because of that.

Good job on using Love2D though. :)

MarekkPie says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 8:24pm

Thanks guys for all the responses.

Again, sorry about the bugs. I think I have a big issue of trying to make something "unique" and "expansive", and end up getting bogged down in implementing too many features. It leaves me with too little time to play-test and, often, too little time to actually implement what I hoped for anyway.

I've also been coming at these competitions nearly totally from scratch. I usually start out with absolutely nothing, then throw together some libraries and try and glue them together. That usually takes about a third to half of my total time, which is far more than I think it should.

Thanks for all the plays and comments. This time around has definitely made me rethink how I should approach these events.

Cryovat says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 10:26pm

I couldn't get the throwing to work for me, so I didn't get too far. You got the workings of a good combat system here though. Good job! :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]