Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Obamapology - SuperDisk - Jam Entry

Our game is about good plans backfiring on you, and who better to convey this than poor Obama who gets ridiculed for everything he tries to do / doesn't do. There's a constant nagbox telling you what you're doing wrong.

At the end, who will be re-elected? The world may never know.

READ THE README!

Note: This game was created for the LudumDare 48 Hour COMPO, not the Jam, but since we worked on a team, stole art and sound from various places, and did other kinds of assorted rulebends, I am forced to put it in the Jam.

But keep in mind that this was created in under 48 hours.

View SuperDisk's journal. | View all entries by SuperDisk

Ratings

Coolness76%
#37Humor(Jam)3.48
#153Innovation(Jam)2.93
#205Audio(Jam)2.45
#230Fun(Jam)2.51
#252Mood(Jam)2.46
#267Overall(Jam)2.59
#271Theme(Jam)2.58
#297Graphics(Jam)2.18

Comments

bmoore says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:51am

The Minecraft level is super annoying to play through, my biggest complaint. Other than that hilarious game.

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:36pm

It's a weird game, it has some "gameplay-parody-mechanic", but maybe not enough fun in my opinion.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:16pm

This is so weird O.o

frogmaster says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:14pm

Good one! Approved!

surpy says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:48am

I really enjoyed the idea, although a little buggy here and there. FYI with the minecraft level, you can just build dirt underneath you and it will magically lift you up. I think this is very politically bias, saying Obama is a villain, which is both interesting and bold. Some people have the right to their opinions. Other than that it is a fun game.

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:11am

@surpy I think you might have misinterpreted the game. It is poking fun at the people who scream at Obama for whatever he does, right or wrong. The MC level was definitely one of the buggier stages, but I can't fix it now
:(

Thanks for the feedback.

OU GDA says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:40am

+1000 points for tackling the big issues

Benjamin says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:21am

Well I think adding new control at each new level without ingame help is not a thing to do.
In year 3 I fell under the level ( by walking through the boss ) and was unable to finish it

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:22am

Yeah, I'm not really sure how I would put ingame help in without jacking up the flow of the game. There is a Readme that is called PLZReadme so I figured people would read it.

brantkings says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:24am

I loved the idea, but as I am not an american, I am not entirely sure what are you parodying about, what are your message. Well I had some fun anyway ;)

Starspell says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:01pm

That's the funniest game I've played this competition. Made me smile from ear to ear.

Of course there are gameplay issues - the collision detection is quite bad in places.

I don't care though. It's really good fun.

Spelchan says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 12:31am

It is arguable about the theme, though certainly republicans will agree with Obama being the villain. I am thinking this is more a Colbert Report type of humor but that is open to interpretation. Leaving politics out of this, the game has all sorts of issues but was interesting enough to make me play through the game. Year 3 was my favorite, and you do not want to know what tortures I wished upon you while playing year 2. Notch is rolling in his grave (and he isn't even dead) from that level. I think you need to learn to limit your scope so you have time to focus on polishing the game, though that is a problem I have as well.

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 1:22am

@Spelchan The game wasn't really meant as a golden game to show to friends, rather a "glorious trainwrecks" esque thing that was hacked out in MMF2 in one night.

df458 says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 4:26am

An interesting game. The ripped assets and numerous glitches detract from the experience, but it still manages to be fun/engaging enough to play to completion.

Neonlare says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 9:05am

Very funny, shame about the game being very hard to play because of hit detection issues and clashing sprites.

aare says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 8:22pm

I like the idea of throwing games at obama, and blaming him for acting accordinly to their rules. I didn't finish the 3level becouse the bug made me disapear from the screen when I passed the boss (I didn't figured out how to shoot in time).
Also, I love how he walks :P

Beerman says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 10:56pm

I have no idea what the hell I just played, but it entertained me.
Brilliant interpretation of the theme. :D

dansludumdare says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 11:00pm

In Windows, pressing shift repeatedly will bring up the sticky keys dialog box. Annoying usually, but I was holding the right arrow when it happened and got stuck in go-right mode which in most games can be corrected by pressing and releasing the right arrow....

Anyway, funny game.

Joseph Miller says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 10:24pm

Cool idea. I really liked the metaphor in the second level of digging the country out of a hole. Unfortunately there was a lot of bugginess and collision stuff that needed to be resolved. When I fell off the edge of the second level once I'd reached the top I couldn't find the motivation to redo it. I would've liked some sort of indicator that I was heading the right direction even though I got the point (in level 2).

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 8:20pm

@Joseph Most people don't notice that you can just dig a straight 2 block wide hole straight up and due to the collision issues you'll just bug right up it. Thanks for the feedback.

dcolgan says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 3:37am

So yes, you may have broken several rules, but this is one of the funniest games I've seen in a while. I lol'd several times. Yay!

donmilham says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 3:47am

This needs to be on whitehouse.gov , I'll start the petition.

zenmumbler says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 7:08pm

I get what you're trying to convey but focusing on 1 or 2 levels instead of 4 would have simplified things. Also, your collision detection is so horrid that I'm sure it qualifies as a federal crime.

SuperDisk says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 10:59pm

@zenmumbler Blame MMF2 for the collision detection. We started out with its crappy platform engine, then tried to switch later but it really broke it, so we changed back to the crappy one and stuck with it.

azurenimbus says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 5:17am

Hehe, this is certainly a first for me. Visualizing politics through gameplay :D

Some really interesting things going on here, and if you smooth the rough edges off, it could be great fun!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]