December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Horrible Horace

by berkano - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Horrible Horace is hungry for power despite a bad hangover. Help him conquer the kingdom of Hibblesworth.

Find a sword and some treasure. Kill or Corrupt The People. Kill Everything Cute. Wait for a Hero to turn up... and defeat him. Avoid Monsters.

2D roguelike (kinda) with a ZX Speccy Aesthetic.

You can either download the platform independent Java build, or run as a Web Applet.

NOTE: When game is over (either you die or you win), it says "PRESS ENTER" but nothing will happen. Just restart the program completely if you want to play again :-)

See the full play guide on my compo blog, or go to http://tinyurl.com/boh8wat

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#251Audio2.76
#334Overall3.04
#379Fun2.82
#435Mood2.65
#485Humor2.18
#503Theme2.90
#520Graphics2.55
#567Innovation2.43
#776Coolness45%

Comments

Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:36pm

The Jar couldn't be launched. OSX 10.8.1

Starspell says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:41pm

I get a Pixel format not accelerated error on the web version. And from the windows version I get an UnsatisfiedLinkError in the loadLibrary function.

I'll try again later on a different computer

Contraspect says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:50pm

It was a bit confusing at first, but fun after I got the hang of it!

Benjamin says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:53pm

Very fun to play despite the fact that it need many tries to undestant where is the "hit zone of the items".
I also get stuck on the gameover sequence, even if I press enter nothing happen.

Zener says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:54pm

Fun game, I like the retro style and all the audio effects and music. Difficulty is also from the eighties.

Blodyavenger says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:57pm

Great game Borkano! I loved spectrum style of graphics and sound. Big plus for minigame to proove that you are innocent. I have fun with this game, very innovative and fun for 48 hours.

berkano says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:18pm

@prettymuchbryce thanks for letting me know, unfortunately I don't have a Mac to test it with :-( Does the web version work for you? And you could try running this directly from Terminal: java -Djava.library.path=./native/macosx -jar game.jar

berkano says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:25pm

@starspell It might be a limitation of LWJGL + your graphics card or might be a bug from me, I'm not sure sorry!

berkano says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:26pm

@Benjamin glad you enjoyed it! Sorry, yes there is no way to restart when the game is over or you win, I'll add a note!

pillbrain says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:29pm

Quite fun, everyone loves killing fluffy things with swords!

har_g says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:13pm

I like the water effetct when i run in an wall, it make my screen blink :s

angrygeometry says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:21pm

this is great!

Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:18pm

Pretty fun game. Absolutely loved the aesthetics, and the game feels pretty solid. No obvious bug or anything (except the restart thing). Very well done!

Sergey Mohov says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 2:52pm

Not a big fan of your collision detection and controls, but otherwise really pleased by this Spectrum imitation. Good job.

KevinWorkman says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 5:08pm

I really liked this game. The collision detection could have been a little more intuitive (such as the attack direction), but overall this was really enjoyable. I liked the minigames such as pleading innocent at trial, and could see this game being expanded into a full version.

By the way, if you're looking for a better host than dropbox, you might check out the free Java hosting I offer at http://StaticVoidGames.com. We handle LWJGL automatically. Either way, nice work!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]