December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Oh No My Earl

by olkeencole - Jam Entry

We had high ambitions, which probably kept the game overly complicated. We had to jettison a lot of features, but we're still proud of the end product.

You are Earl of Large bent on destroying the world. With the Time Disruptor completed, now you must charge it up. But the Heroine Mop Soppings has heard of your dastardly plans and intends to raid your clocktower hideout. Happily, no hero can resist smashing a pot. Delay Mop Soppings with your minions and alluring pottery long enough for the Time Disruptor to charge and the world will be yours!

Keep Mop Soppings from reaching the top of the tower. You have 4 minute until the Time Disruptor is fully charged.

You have around 20 seconds before Mop appears on the first floor.

Use pots to keep Mop occupied. To delay her even longer, summon a Slime minion.

It's unfitting for the final boss to appear before the final level. So when Mop Soppings appear on the same level as you, you will instantly teleport to the level above.


Controls:
WASD: Movement
Space: Smash an unwanted pot
Tab: Toggle Hero Camera
M: Floor Elevator menu

**In the lower left corner, you can click on either the pot or slime icon to aid you in your maniacal meddlings.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#59Audio(Jam)3.44
#98Innovation(Jam)3.19
#99Graphics(Jam)3.63
#110Mood(Jam)3.08
#135Humor(Jam)2.73
#136Theme(Jam)3.44
#211Overall(Jam)2.81
#282Fun(Jam)2.19
#990Coolness28%

Comments

dremelofdeath says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:39am

I love the graphics and what you're going for here, but the game seems really glitchy. I often found myself on floors where the ceiling would obstruct my vision, also it was hard to determine where exactly your target is since they can be above or below you, yet there is no indication of that

TylerJones says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:24pm

No pots appeared for me. I effectively couldn't do anything except wait for the hero to climb the stairs.

illugion says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:06pm

I really like the graphics, they remind me of paper mario style, i'm interested on how you did it. But i had the same problem as the guy up here, there were no pots and i could only climb

Hatscat says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:24pm

I like the characters and theme voices, it's really amazing. But i could'nt fully play.

goulding57 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:16pm

I liked the art style, thought the design could be worked on. Loved the sound. At one point I got stuck in my pot, so that wasn't fun, but otherwise good job!

Darkfrost says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:19pm

Could not place pots, great idea though.

littleball says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:28pm

Sorry, but nothing was happening for me on the web version. I couldn't place any pots

tumoxep says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:40pm

Love the idea and voice acting. Very original.

Oreganik says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 8:45pm

I loved the concept, the art, and the "blah blah blah" talk. But the gameplay just didn't work for me: no pots, and I never figured out a) my goal and b) what I was supposed to do. Gameplay first! =)

Neonlare says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 1:27pm

Web version doesn't work, so downloaded the Windows version. The game is very glitchy, but the art style is really, really slick.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]