December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Test Subject Gamma

by Markavian - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I missed the memo about goats, but there is a goat in the Gynasium if that's how you like to work out.

>> Your time as a Villain has come
>> Make Money
>> Kill People
>> Begin Researching Project Gamma

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#88Theme3.85
#104Innovation3.54
#142Graphics3.59
#204Humor3.00
#254Overall3.19
#350Mood2.79
#530Audio1.71
#545Fun2.46
#694Coolness48%

Comments

Freakill says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:47am

Really nice enry! It is hard at the beginning to do things right, or maybe is that I do things to quickly! But I really liked the graphics, adorable dead men! The only problem I see is game does not detect Lose condition? Two times now with negative money and without employees and game keeps working. Really funny! :D

tomvert says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:46pm

It made me feel very bad.

emveyh says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:47pm

Wow. Only one comment so far? This is simply awesome! The only thing that's missing is some music :)

TheSheep says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:53pm

Not really sure what the challenge is...

Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:58pm

Cool game, graphics were good and I liked having an overhead view of the whole place. I played for a while and enjoyed it, worth some expansion

ChainedLupine says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:12am

Does not appear to be winnable, or losable? I got to 1K research, but then everybody died.

Radiatoryang says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:01am

got to 1M research, didn't really understand what was happening? had to mute the beeping sound, really annoying after a while... cool concept

angrygeometry says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:06am

played it to the end. really cool entry!!

illugion says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:10am

My money started reseting after i got many upgrades and killed lots of people XD it was really fun ! With music and an ending i think it would be perfect

Markavian says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:18am

The ending is a soft ending where you complete Project Gamma. If you reach $1,000,000 the money resets (lost on the stock market), but by that point you're usually earning too much. I didn't put limits on the building upgrades, so you can pump money into upgrading without restriction. (Ooops :)).

tl;dr needed balancing

fishbrain says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:32pm

wasn't exactly sure what i was doing, but nice original idea. (the 'beep', though nicely atmospheric, could be toned down a little)

hypp says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:48pm

Great idea!

Ariake81 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:43pm

pretty harsh, but a good interesting take on the LD theme

Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:00am

Interesting entry but I'm not sure I caught how to make more money to offset the cost of dead guys.

Kenaron1703 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:22am

Really good game, but after a while, the subjects developed high resistance to the electricity and the ice cube chambers, so the Gymnasium is the most deadly place for now :D

nilstastic says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:19pm

Good: nice graphics and an excellent idea!
Improve: hard to get into the game and to understand what to do. :/

Mezzomatto says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 12:50am

Nice. With further development , added challenges, levels, upgrades and the like, ir could be a great full game. Perfect for my android! Nice look and feel.

Jan 1, 2013 @ 5:14pm

Fun! but everytime I reach 1000K it drops back down to 40K.

fr_automatik says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 1:52pm

Got to 150k research.
I usually spawn lots of TS, put 90% in the Recycling room.
and the remainder in a Research room which is upgraded with the money earned from recycling.
IMHO, there is too much grinding needed, but it's still nice work!

Jan 4, 2013 @ 4:49pm

I wasn't sure what I was trying to do, but I felt evil doing it!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]