December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Misadventures of Dr. Bardo

by PIXEL^3 - Jam Entry

This is the Misadventures of Dr. Bardo,
A Ludum Dare 25 game made in 72 hours by:
Jellonator, programming.
AlucardX60, art.
and MKSTAR26, music.

CONTROLS
====================
W, A, and D to move/jump
Hold S to spawn a bomb with science
Left mouse button to throw. (Also controls angle and velocity)

There is a difficulty setting in 'options' (O button on title screen) if the game is too hard.
Made with Flashpunk.

Bugfixes(yes they are allowed):
fix 0.1:
-Fixed bug where you die when entering the final boss room
fix 0.4:
-Bottomless pits have their functions again
-Added some text at the bottom of the page for clarity on other websites(e.g. dA, Newgrounds)
-Made the buzzsaw enemies less powerful, 10 dmg instead of 20.
fix 0.6:
-Fixed boss health bars not resetting
-changes the boss health text from white to black(readability issues)
tips:
try placing bombs op top of/ right next to enemies. It does more damage that way.
Use blocks to block enemies.
Try throwing bombs from afar.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#57Graphics(Jam)4.00
#80Overall(Jam)3.41
#104Mood(Jam)3.13
#110Audio(Jam)3.16
#120Fun(Jam)3.04
#148Humor(Jam)2.67
#225Innovation(Jam)2.59
#278Theme(Jam)2.48

Comments

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:37am

It was actually pretty nice, but I couldn't seem to get past the third level. There seemed to be a huge difficulty spike there. The main frustration comes from the bomb's timer; if the bomb just detonated when it hit a robot, it would be far more easy to play and more fun. I can't evaluate further because of the difficulty spike in room three.

7Soul says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:09am

I liked it, a few problems here and there but overall a nice game. Only problem is that it glitched at the end. I got to the robot boss, he said something then I died immediately. Then the level restarted and no button worked anymore, not even the reset :<
If you fix this, please add a cheat code or something so I can beat the final boss :)

PIXEL^3 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:53am

SuperDisk: Sorry, we didn't have time for good level design or getting them in order. There is however a difficulty setting, just hit O at the title.

7Soul: The bug has been fixed in both the DB and dA versions.

~AlucardX60

PIXEL^3 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:32am

The final boss death glitch:
In level 7, the player's y is below 480, which is alright because the level height is 960. But in the Final boss room, the room height is 480 and since the player is below the room for a slip second, the game thinks he fell and died down a bottomless pit. I had to remove endless pit functionality to make it work again.

~Jellonator

PIXEL^3 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:24am

I'd like a bit of feedback on the music I put absolutely no effort into :3
~MK

Verrazano says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:35am

It was a very well polished game, and I mean that as in the country way. :P It was actually quite hard though. but a well put together game.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:30am

Well put together, but really, really hard. Couln't get through the 3th level. Spikes ruined me.

But it still was fun to play. I wonder, what if you would have reduce the time for the bomb to explode, or make it explode immediately when hurting an ennemy ?

Suese says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:01am

Pretty good, rather fun and frustrating. I would have preferred to use the keyboard to throw bombs.

Tyren says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:47pm

Good game! It was hard, for sure, but fun. The music was okay at first, but over time was tiring on my ear.

dek says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:37am

Enjoyable art :)! Good gameplay, was a bit hard though. Maybe place the bomb button some where else? :/

RosyPenguin says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:31am

The game was really difficult for me, and the controls were a bit confusing. Why not use space to spawn bombs (since we're using spacebar for cutscenes anyway)? The art and music are good, and you guys were able to get a lot of content and polish in. Great job guys!

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:37am

Yeah, third level was quite hard, I didn't beat it.

graphics were pretty good, but the actual animation, of the character, wasn't very good, in my opinion. Needed to be more... animated. XD

Still pretty good game.

That noise sweep thingy in the music got annoying after a while. Also, the jump and landing sounds were delayed so that they were out of time with the actual character's actions.

PIXEL^3 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:32am

"The music was okay at first, but over time was tiring on my ear." Thanks for the feedback, I tried out more detailed music this LD since I felt fancy.

"That noise sweep thingy in the music got annoying after a while." Just an experiment, I realize now it shouldn't actually be part of the main music. Thanks for the feedback!

~MK

wzl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:59am

The graphics and sounds are very solid, but the pacing is bad, the challenges get too difficult too quickly without getting to learn your tools. Also this game is too hard :P

Reviewed: http://ldmr.wzl.vg/#pixel3

Per says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:47pm

"spawn a bomb with science" :)
Nice graphics. Also enjoyed the music, for a while ;)
The gameplay was nice but to difficult... Well done!

Udrian says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:20pm

Interesting platformer. I really liked the art very much! I'm not sure if I hated the music or if i loved it xP. It was how ever a little frustrating to use the bomb to kill the enemies, especially the flying ones. The boss fights was pretty neat though!

TyrusPeace says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 7:45am

Bahaha, I've just realized that platformer-where-the-dungeon-master-insults-you is pretty much a staple of LD now. This is very well done. Good jokes, nice art. The music's a bit more repetitive than I'd like, though.

I agree with other reviews that the razor bots holding up the blocks were far more difficult than the things preceding them.

Cool ideas and good implementation, though!

krutech says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 8:55pm

Good game all in all. Controls could be different. So many places for my brain to keep track of. Nice graphics.

StMatn says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 4:01am

Cool game! It made a very polished impression. Graphics and audio were really nice. throwing bombs at those pesky flying robots was kind of annoying, but generally the game was very good!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]