Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

PST: 6 PM
*EST: 9 PM
UTC: 02:00

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

Ludum Dare 31:
Ludum Deals
???
 
Recent:
MiniLD #XX

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Villaintris - Birchmountain - 48 Hour Compo Entry

*THIS GAME REQUIRES TWO PLAYERS! Sorry :3*

This is not a normal game of Tetris, this is a tool with which real villains can spread frustration and anger to their victims!

You, the villain, decides which pieces that comes next as you tries to break your target. You do this by using the scroll wheel. When you scroll, a white piece will come falling down in the background. It's this white piece that will be the next piece in the game. If you scroll again, you overwrite the old one. In order to be able to change pieces you must have the mouse cursor in the game window, if your cursor is outsie of the window the game will act normal and give the player random pieces.

Fool your "friends" by making them play, while you sit back and deny them that line piece they need so bad! Enjoy!

View Birchmountain's journal. | View all entries by Birchmountain

Ratings

Coolness72%
#42Innovation3.89
#204Humor3.00
#237Theme3.49
#315Overall3.08
#319Fun2.92
#335Mood2.83
#511Audio1.88
#592Graphics2.31

Comments

Freakill says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:16am

Realy good idea! I've been playing already with "a victim", and despite being a little bit difficult to control what tetromino will fall, it is really funny see others frustration.

BNeutral says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:48am

And just when you thought you had seen every good Tetris modification, this idea appears. Brilliant.

Birchmountain says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:27am

Thanks guys! I really tried to make it hard for the victim to realize it's being tricked, i hope it's not to hard to spot the new piece!

sclark39 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:28pm

I love the stealth aspect to being the villain. Interesting selection scheme.

infernet89 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:34pm

Great idea, loved how you want to hide the Villain choiche to the player!

Spierek says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:41pm

Great idea, kudos :D

robashton says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:43pm

Great concept, it's entertaining to frustrate friends with :-D

(Btw, if you want to try my game again, I've fixed it in your browsers)

Mythalore says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:52pm

Just seems like tetris, I couldn't seem to change the piece.

Biped says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:38pm

A really nice twist on the tetris game. Like it.

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:05pm

This is evil ! Very good !

timtipgames says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:25pm

This idea is brilliant. Took me a while to find out how to change the pieces. I am looking forward to fooling my colleagues at work tomorrow :)

Birchmountain says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:58pm

"I am looking forward to fooling my colleagues at work tomorrow :)"

This is exactly what i wanted people to do! You sir, are a true villain!

lekochen says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:11am

What a brilliant concept. This is so evil, love it!

Btw thank you for playing my game. I replied your comment and added some description to it. I'd appreciate if you could try it again, thanks!

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:31am

Ha! A very nifty idea and quite fun.

ahmed.majd says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:06pm

I understand the concept, but i'm alone so i can't benefit of all the awsomeness of the game.
nice work anyway

Pierrec says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:19pm

2 Players + Scrollwheel ? You really don't want me to play, do you ?
I got no scrollwheel on my laptop and I'm pretty sure a lot of people are using a laptop...could you add some other commands ? RMB and LMB would totally do the trick!

Can't rate it yet :/ But the idea is cool, it reminds me this : http://www.youtube.com/watch?gl=FR&hl=fr&v=Alw5hs0chj0

Birchmountain says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:18pm

@Pierrec, I realized that laptop players would have a an issue playing without a mouse. But the main concept of the game is stealth and tricking your opponent. I decided that it couldn't be done by using the mouse buttons because they tend to make some sort of noise and a miss click could ruin it all. And if you were to play without a mouse it would be extremely hard to fool the player. But i guess you're right, i might as well add support for RMB and LMB.

Thanks for the feedback!

And i haven't actually seen that video before, but it sure made me laugh. This is exactly how i want Villaintris to be used.

Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:34am

XD Surprised I haven't played any game quite like this before. Really its an excellent idea.

wlad says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 10:45am

Hey cool concept. The trick worked out. My victim didn't realised it, until I said him why he has lost^^ I think I encountered a bug: the top most line don't move downwards, if a line is completed.

Birchmountain says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 11:27am

@wlad, awesome that it worked! I'll have to look into that bug, thanks!

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 11:58pm

Absolutely brilliant idea! The execution is interesting and despite it being a bit tough to choose the next tetromino, I can't think of a more devious way to hide the fact that there is a choice at all.

I will have to find myself an unsuspecting victim to try this out on. Awesome job! :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]